Grilled Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We've tried numerous times to grill pizza and this was actually successful for the most part. The dough turned out great and held together well for handling during the grill process. We had some cooking time issues but that may be the result of using a tabletop Weber grill instead of a full sized one. We were not able to adjust the distance from the heat and our crusts were cooking much too quickly and the first one burned with the 3 minute time for side one. The cheese wasn't getting melted in the center and only the edges were really cooked with this method and I ended up microwaving to finish it off. The crust turned out soft and doughy and rose nicely and was great for holding the toppings and it was bread like and soft. We prefer a crispy thin pizza so we'll go back to the oven method but this actually did work for us once we got the timing issues resolved. We were hoping to duplicate a wood fired oven/brick oven taste but this did not accomplish that goal. I think we will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Crust is my favorite thing about a pizza, so it was necessary for me to find an excellent recipe. This is it! It's so easy to prepare and it's texture is amazing!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This recipe is perfect! I split into 6 pizzas instead of 8, so that our pie were a little larger. We made all different types including green pepper/ onion/ turkey pepperoni, cheese/ basil, garlic/ basil/ fresh tomato, sausage/ turkey pepperoni, etc. they were all so amazing! We re-oiled the bottom of the pizza before putting on the grill the second time, and kept our pizzas on longer so they were more crispy. This will be a regular meal on our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
The dough recipe is on point! Since we ran out of gas I popped these in the oven at 375 instead. Same process, cook on one side till 75% done, remove, flip, add toppings and bake till "done". In my opinion, the dough should be rolled out to a very thin consistency, that's how you achieve a thin and crispy crust. I used Hunts Tomato Paste w/basil, garlic and oregano and that is what really made these things pop. Also, we had extra dough, so we rolled it out into a big rectangle, pressed a knife into the dough to create "breadsticks", drizzled olive oil, rubbed minced garlic all over and topped with cheese. Awesome with the tomato paste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarloDeVitoJr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. We have been making this specific recipe for a few years. It is easy and tasty. I like using it when we have company, so everyone can create their own masterpiece. My own favorite is cubed grilled chicken, basil, sun-dried tomatoes, and a bit of olive oil. My only suggestion is to be careful of how large you roll the dough--they may be the right size for a hungry teenager, but a little too big for most! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I'd give this 6 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linaeve
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Crust was VERY easy to work with! I used olive oil in the crust and brushed both sides of the crust with olive oil mixed with garlic paste & dipping herbs. I used my Primo ceramic grill (much like the Egg only bigger) Next time I will make sure the heat is a bit lower before putting the dough on. Had a few darker than I liked but fixed the problem by placing my pizza stone on before cooking the second side with the toppings. Will be making this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
the smell when the dough hits the grill is amazing. don't forget to grill before adding toppings. first one made a big gooey mess because I didn't read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sausage and Pepper Pizza

See how to make a quick-and-easy sausage pizza on the grill.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Pizza on the Grill

See why a conventional oven just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States