Grilled Pheasant Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband just went on his annual pheasant hunting trip. I threw this recipe in his bag, as it looked easy for a non-multitasking man. He called me and said they were great, and were a huge hit with the guys. They made them two nights in a row. I can't wait to try them myself. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is the most I have ever enjoyed eating pheasant in my life. I am not a big wild game person but these were amazing. We have made them several times for family and friends and they are always well liked. They are easy to make, in fact my 9 year old daughter has the recipe memorized. She actually calls them "lizzy poppers" after whoever put the recipe up. They are delicious and can be made in a snap...a definite 5 star appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awsome! We soaked the pheasant in buttermilk overnight to get rid of the gamey taste. Very good super bowl appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Our family makes these all the time!! We maranate the pheasant over night in italian dressing, put them together and just through them under the broiler for about 5 minutes. This insures that the pheasant isn't over cooked and we like our bacon a little on the rare side. We don't have a family event without them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leadville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
All I can say is that I wish they had more stars for me to give! These little things are amazing. I also live in South Dakota and struggle with what to do with all of the pheasant that my husband brings home. I found this recipe and not only is it very easy but these things are delicious! I have made them a couple of different times now and they are a family favorite. They have been a hit with anyone that I have ever served them too. I have given out this recipe probably 15 times at least. I recommend that everyone try these! Even if you think that you don't like pheasant....you will love these. Trust me! They are addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I just made these yesterday for a Wild Game dinner, and they were a HUGE hit! They were the first to go off of the tables! I followed the recipe exactly and according to everyone's reviews at the dinner, there's no need to change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
We ate these as kabobs for the main meal so I diluted the jalapeno juice with water because I was afraid they would be too hot. But, they weren't hot at all. Next time I will use the full jalapeno juice. My son, who totally refused to eat pheasant, agreed to try one after seeing them come off the grill and loved them. He even "shotgunned" the leftovers for the next day. I can't wait to try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We first tasted this at our friends and have since made it many times. It is always a huge hit and looks impressive. It has great flavor and the jalapeno is not hot! However we use fresh jalapenos not canned and make sure you use gloves when you cut the jalapenos or you will burn your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
EXCELLENT!! I'm always looking for new and tasty pheasant recipes for my family of outdoorsman. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
wow the very best I've had I also tried it with wild turkey just as good.. All my family love both if them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Grilled Lemon Chicken

A zesty marinade for grilled chicken breasts. Dinner’s ready in minutes.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States