Grilled Pheasant Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awsome! We soaked the pheasant in buttermilk overnight to get rid of the gamey taste. Very good super bowl appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These are amazing! I usually am not a big fan of game bird, but these are unbelievable! We used pickled jalapenos (Mrs Renfros) Amazing! Highly recomended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica E Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband just went on his annual pheasant hunting trip. I threw this recipe in his bag, as it looked easy for a non-multitasking man. He called me and said they were great, and were a huge hit with the guys. They made them two nights in a row. I can't wait to try them myself. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I loved this one, but husband though it was very spicy. I can do one of two things: Ignore him or put smaller pieces of jalepeno on each piece. Haven't decided yet.... Seriously, save this one, its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wow, these are great. My husband hunts but I hate eating pheasant so we usually give it away. This is the best pheasant dish I've had. I took it to a NYE party and people really loved them! I live in MN so grilling is tough in the winter... I just baked them and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Took this to a christmas party and went over well, but I did do something a little different. Since my crew and I do not like things really hot and this was on the hot side. I added some teriyaki sauce to the poppers once they were cooked. It had a great flavor and still had enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
AMAZING appetizer to make. They were gone quickly and people were asking for more. Definately something good to make for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is the most I have ever enjoyed eating pheasant in my life. I am not a big wild game person but these were amazing. We have made them several times for family and friends and they are always well liked. They are easy to make, in fact my 9 year old daughter has the recipe memorized. She actually calls them "lizzy poppers" after whoever put the recipe up. They are delicious and can be made in a snap...a definite 5 star appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Our family makes these all the time!! We maranate the pheasant over night in italian dressing, put them together and just through them under the broiler for about 5 minutes. This insures that the pheasant isn't over cooked and we like our bacon a little on the rare side. We don't have a family event without them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leadville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were surprisingly good. We had to make a slight alteration as we only had 2 pheasant, so we threw in some grouse...kind of crazy, but the grouse was better. It stayed tender and juicy while the pheasant was a bit drier. Good recipe - we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Grilled Lemon Chicken

A zesty marinade for grilled chicken breasts. Dinner’s ready in minutes.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Grilled pineapple is the perfect way to switch up salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States