Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have used this recipe for years, however, I use JAM rather than jelly and recently I've started 'buttering' the bread with real mayonnaise instead of the butter-much more even browning. A word of caution: THE JELLY OR JAM STAYS HOT FOR A VERY LONG TIME-- BE CAREFUL WHEN SERVING THIS SANDWICH TO CHILDREN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have been making this sandwich for years, but my favorite is on cinnamon raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Actually really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Back when I was a teenager, I found a recipe similar to this one that I used to make for my younger sister. However, we wound up modifying in a way that made it even more yummy--WARNING, though, it is NOT a healthy recipe. Spread peanut butter on one slice of bread (I would use more like 1 TB); top with your choice of 2 tsp jelly (I like the classic grape). Butter the other slice of bread and then sprinkle with approximately 1 tsp. sugar and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon (or a cinnamon/sugar blend). Place the two halves together, PB&Y touching cinnamon/sugar mix. Then, lightly butter the outsides of the sandwich; grill until nicely browned. DELISH! You can do a little better calorie-wise by using a healtier peanut butter (I like Smart Balance) and reduced calorie butter or margerine, such as Olivo Butter Spread. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Love it, it's everything a PB and J should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potter Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. A normal pb&J is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I grew up on these! They go great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Like someone else said, it's good, but it's just a hot PB&J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I didn't care for the combination of savory and sweet in this. I would much rather have a grilled cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I can't say there was anything wrong with this but I don't think it was for me (just a matter of taste). I baked my sandwich since I don't have a good grill anymore. Watch out for hot jelly - hot sugar is super hot! Thanks for the idea. I made this and ate it on National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States