Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
For the sake of rating this recipe, I did try it as written. It was good, that's for sure, but really unnecessarily complicated. You can get almost the same results a lot easier (and with a few less calories and fat) by simply toasting your bread in the toaster, then proceeding to make your PB&J as usual. Ta da! A warm PB&J that is delicious (the toast warms the peanut butter making it super gooey and yummy!). But if you just love buttered, grilled sandwiches, then you will probably love the original recipe as written. It really was pretty good, but for me, just not worth the extra time, effort and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Forget the jelly and add dill pickle slices before you grill it. It is amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I'm so glad we have sites like allrecipes.com to share our amazing creations like this! Toasted PB&J? Who comes up with these things?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fdask

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We done this for years only instead of grilling, we just toast the bread and spread the peanut butter immediately out of the toaster. The PB melts quickly and spread the jelly. For a really sinful change you can use Nutella instead of jelly. As far as the one who changed the recipe using ham and cheese. I do that all the time with any meat and cheese on the George Forman. I do spread butter on one side of the bread but don't add any condiments. This is what I've seen on menus known as a Panini and they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
There is a restaurant in Oklahoma City, the Red Pin, that does this recipe by grilling them on a panini press, then slices the sandwich into 1/2 inch thick strips and serves with a cup of chocolate (like Hershey's) sauce for dipping. Absolutely amazing late night snack food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a really great sandwich - just the way the recipe calls for it. I understand some people adding cinnamon or raisin bread or whatever to suit their own taste. It's not like this is something you eat every day. It's a treat - a "once-in-awhile" treat. Enjoy it, for goodness sakes. Why suffer through the drab greasy taste of Pam when you can have the bright creamy taste of butter. It's only a dab or two!! Relax and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Leeder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I've been making grilled pb&j's for years.. I was so excited to see that someone posted it as a recipe... now I can show all my friends that it's an actual recipe & not just one of my weird food cravings!! I absolutely love the combination of warm gooey peanut butter, sweet jam & buttery crunchy bread. Try this variation: make grilled peanut butter sandwich (no jam, just peanut butter) then cut into triangles & serve with some honey for dipping. Crunchy peanut butter works as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I've made grilled pb & j sandwiches for years but for an added delight, I sprinkle it with powdered sugar when it's done. Also, be really careful when biting into it because the jelly is very hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
this is pretty good I made it for my little sister and brother and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States