Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Even though I was sure at age 10 (40+ years ago, ahem. Yes, I am old haha) that I had "invented" this recipe, I had to give it five stars because I know how delicious it is! :) If you're worried about calories; use no sugar added jam, and all natural peanut butter, then spray the bread with pan spray instead of butter. It's not *quite* the same, but still pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Sure there isn't a mistake in the amt. of peanut butter and jelly in the recipe. Can't imagine being able to spread 1 teaspoon of p.b. and 2 teaspoons of jelly on two slices of bread. Haven't tried it yet, but I am a peanut butter lover and know even a tablesppon doesn't go very far! Someone comment, please. With all those 5 star reviews it must work. Or they used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I add powdered sugar on the top when done, tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We used to make these years ago when camping. We always use whole grain bread though & they are really good made with cinnamon raisin bread for a breakfast sandwich for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is one of my very best favorite go-to sandwiches and has been for years. My daughter & 15-year old grandson like it as is. BUT...my 11-year old granddaughter and I add a slice of 2% Kraft American cheese. I've also used Velveeta, too. You just have to be careful as both the peanut butter and the cheese can burn your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is great! For a variation, replace jelly with honey and grill. And the ultimate is the "Elvis Presley Favorite" grilled peanut butter and banana and honey sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I use PB2 to lower the fat, toast the bread first, habanero pepper jelly, and spray butter substitute. What a great way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My mom has been making these for 50 years! I didn't know she was so cutting edge. I always heard that this was Elvis' favorite food, so we called them Elvis Sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I agree with many of the past posts...PB&J is wonderful. I would make a couple of adjustments to the simplicity of this though. Definitely my preference, but I hope someone else tries it. Instead of general peanut butter, try the crunchy kind. I prefer strawberry preserves to the jelly because you get the actual strawberries in the sandwich. Mix the jelly/preserves and peanut butter in a bowl before putting on the bread. Spread the mix on the bread and then...for those of you who like strawberries and bananas (OOOOHHHHH!!!!), try adding thin slices of bananas between 2 layers of the spread. That's good! One last note, has anyone considered using something like Nutella or some other kind of nut-butter? You can mix it with the PB even for a sweet treat. Hope you like my ideas. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I first tried this when I was pregnant with my 3rd child (27 years ago). I had to force myself stop eating them. It was nothing for me to eat two for lunch...one for me, one for baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States