Grilled Oysters with Fennel Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I am in culinary school and today's assignment was oysters so I thought I would give this recipe a try. Out of 15 different dishes that were prepared by other students this one was, across the board, the favored. Excellent flavor! I will make it when I have my own restraunt for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Our whole family really enjoyed these. The flavor was quite different from the way any of us had eaten oysters before. Kids even liked them although I heard a "too slimy" comment or two. The fennel was unique and very much enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was really, really yummy. Use a good, meaty oyster. I also recommend using unsalted butter because most oysters themselves are salty enough. A light, crisp slightly dry white wine is divine with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
AWESOME! Although I took the basic idea and completed the recipe a bit different. Opened up my Kumamoto oysters on the grill (about 5-7 min as my grill was on 400 degrees). During that time melted Smart Balance and Herbs de Provence (sp?) as I had no fennel seed. Used about 1/2 cup Smart Balance following a different review the Kumamoto's are smaller oysters. Then cracked open and added the oysters to the butter in the saucepan. They were so good I ate them right from the pan!!! My hubbie doesn't eat oysters so they were just for me anyway! I would omit the salt next time, oysters are salty enough the way they are! Overall great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was Fantastic people who were queasy with the idea of eating oysters loved them. The only thing I would do differently is shuck the oysters before putting them on the grill. The recipe suggest heating them up them shucking them I found this a little difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Really good! We didn't have any fennel seeds (just the whole plant from our CSA) so we left them out - I used the leftover butter on green beans - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Good, but salty, next time I would omit the 1/2 tsp of salt all together. It also makes way to much for the small Kumamoto Oysters that we love so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Be careful when opening the oysters. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was absolutely spectacular. We used the butter on Oysters as well as on scallops and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States