Grilled Oysters with Fennel Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was absolutely spectacular. We used the butter on Oysters as well as on scallops and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was Fantastic people who were queasy with the idea of eating oysters loved them. The only thing I would do differently is shuck the oysters before putting them on the grill. The recipe suggest heating them up them shucking them I found this a little difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
AWESOME! Although I took the basic idea and completed the recipe a bit different. Opened up my Kumamoto oysters on the grill (about 5-7 min as my grill was on 400 degrees). During that time melted Smart Balance and Herbs de Provence (sp?) as I had no fennel seed. Used about 1/2 cup Smart Balance following a different review the Kumamoto's are smaller oysters. Then cracked open and added the oysters to the butter in the saucepan. They were so good I ate them right from the pan!!! My hubbie doesn't eat oysters so they were just for me anyway! I would omit the salt next time, oysters are salty enough the way they are! Overall great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Really good! We didn't have any fennel seeds (just the whole plant from our CSA) so we left them out - I used the leftover butter on green beans - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was really, really yummy. Use a good, meaty oyster. I also recommend using unsalted butter because most oysters themselves are salty enough. A light, crisp slightly dry white wine is divine with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Good, but salty, next time I would omit the 1/2 tsp of salt all together. It also makes way to much for the small Kumamoto Oysters that we love so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I am in culinary school and today's assignment was oysters so I thought I would give this recipe a try. Out of 15 different dishes that were prepared by other students this one was, across the board, the favored. Excellent flavor! I will make it when I have my own restraunt for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Be careful when opening the oysters. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Our whole family really enjoyed these. The flavor was quite different from the way any of us had eaten oysters before. Kids even liked them although I heard a "too slimy" comment or two. The fennel was unique and very much enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States