Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I hate to be mean but I did not care for this recipe. I was a little reluctant to make it because of a few negative reviews from "Expert's" but I figured that I would give it a try because I love Orange Chicken. The flavors just don't work, too much balsamic flavor - not enough orange flavor. Dinner was saved by adding Sweet & Sour sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHuey10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I cook chicken at least twice a week, so am always looking for something different. I was intrigued by the combination of marmalade and balsamic, so decided to try it. We loved it! Very easy, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good, the orange isn't too strong but the sauce adds that extra flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe (aside from cooking in the oven as opposed to the grill) and just found the dish okay. I think I was hoping for the Chinese restaurant Orange chicken. This sauce was fairly runny and not as thick as I was hoping. The chicken didn't really seem to soak up the flavor like I was hoping. We may try again and just add some more spices and marinate the chicken to see if that helps. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wonderful recipe - I made it for my husband and I and we both enjoyed it. We'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We love this recipe. It was easy to make and tasted great! It's winter here so I didn't grill the chicken. Instead I butterflied some chicken breasts and lightly floured them, pan-seared each side until it was golden brown, poured the sauce over and baked in the oven. A definite keeper! 6/16/09: This time I made this on the grill and it wasn't as great. I think that butterflying the chicken and cooking it in the oven allowed the flavors to infuse more into the chicken. The family agrees that grilled this only deserves 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
we used tenders for this recipe. i marinated the chicken in some of the glaze for about 3 hours, then basted it when grilling. i forgot to reserve some for dipping but it didn't need it. i had guest over and they asked for the recipe. served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good, I cut the chicken into 2" chunks, and marinated for 1 day, then baked it in the marinade, when it was done I put the chicken over brown rice and reduced the marinade/juices and poured over the top. Very flavorful but by no means overpowering, serve w/ steamed pea pods, and honey ginger carrots (on this website). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
At first I did not know how good this was going to be, but after I took the first bite, this is for sure to be a recipe that I will keep on using. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF CORKY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Tangy, easy, and delicious. I used Quorn (fake chicken) and omitted the chives because I didn't happen to have any handy. I added minced garlic and crushed red peppers to the marmalade and vinegar mixture to give it a little more punch. Lastly, I broiled the "chicken" rather than grilling it. I served this with homemade mashed potatoes and rolls and it was delicious. The 15 year old in my home ate every bite so he adds his implicit stamp of approval. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States