Grilled Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this for my family(2,8,12 plus husband and I) Everyone really liked it. I made this in the oven as it is winter and didn't want to BBQ. A hint for those who don't know much about Balsamic Vinegar...depending on how old and how long it is aged for will change the flavour of the vinegar. The old and longer aged ones cost more and will have a VERY pungent flavour. Please adjust your recipe or you will be disappointed by the overwhelming Balsamic aroma and taste. If you are in doubt add less the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is pretty darn tasty! I wanted to use up some chicken and some marmalade and voila, I came upon this recipe. I baked it in the oven because it's February and I live in Canada, 'nuf said. I found the sauce that dripped onto the pan burned easily. Also, the sauce burns easily when you are heating it in the pot. I used sage and rosemary in the glaze and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Super Easy! I didn't measure anything. I used more marmalade and less balsamic vinegar. So I didn't do it exactly as suggested. But it turned out Great. I heated the ingredients in skillet on stove then put in a few chicken drumsticks reduced to low and then covered with a lid. I probably cooked it for about 25 minutes. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this for dinner the other day and couldn't believe how easy it was for me! As most meals these days are "culinary adventures" for me, this was truly easy and VERY delicious! My food tester thought it was awesome as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It was ok, but I was disappointed, especially given all the great reviews. The orange flavor was too understated... maybe some fresh orange zest or some orange concentrate would have helped. I made it with only half the balsamic vinegar, but added the remaining 2 T. as rice wine vinegar. Still bland. I added some orange juice, freshly grated ginger, garlic chili sauce, fresh garlic, and a touch of dark sesame oil. It was better, but still thin. I made a slurry with oj and cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Since the orange flavor was so muted, I cut the chicken into little pieces and cooked them in the sauce in a frying pan. Served with white rice and broccoli. I think I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly, but decided against even trying it on the chicken. I am sublimely curious as to why other people got different results. I used Smuckers orange marmalade, and I quadruple check the recipe proportions. The combination of the marmalade, vinegar, olive oil, and sage just looked revolting, like a black goop coated in oil. This didn't change when I warmed it in the saucepan as directed. I have no idea how black translates to orange chicken, but it smelled strongly of vinegar and just tasted strange. My husband ended up just dumping it in the sink while I was re-reading and re-reading the recipe. Neither of us can figure out why this happened and why it wasn't reported in other reviews, and we ultimately just found another recipe for orange-ish sauce on this website, which was still mediocre. My search for a good orange chicken recipe is still ongoing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was so easy! I am mostly vegetarian and have been for years so my experience cooking meat of any kind is exceptionally limited but this was still so simple. I did it in the oven following the directions that someone else gave here: bake at 350 covered for 15 minutes on each side, then uncovered for the remaining 20-30 minutes at 400, flipping occassionally and brushing with sauce each time you flip. My pan had lots of juices at the end of it and the chicken itself was very moist. You could really taste the orange flavor and the balsamic gave it a nice tanginess. I left out the sage because I just didn't have any and the chives because my dad hates them. I served it with almond rice pilaf from this site, honey-glazed carrots and roasted baby potatoes (I love my carbs). My entire family loved it although my sister noted that she would cut down on the balsamic or use a little more marmalade. I, however, loved it as it was and will definately make again soon. One last thing, I didn't use Garlic salt as I didn't have any and used a garlic paste instead but instead of rubbing the chicken with it (my hands would smell for days), I added about a teaspoon of the garlic paste to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this last night and it was yummy! I baked the chicken in the oven as I didn't have a grill and the sauce carmalized very nicely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
It's funny cuz the sauce tasted so good... but none of it actually went IN to the chicken. i cut down the recipe in half, but followed directions directly. doubled the amount of garlic salt called for and baked the thighs in the oven instead of grilling. i can proudly say that i failed at producing this dish, but it's ok. i'm not going to give it up yet. when i come up with a good way of incorporating the sauce, i'll repost! i'm thinking pounded, deboned thighs. thanks for the recipe KitchenKing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I am not sure I'll try this one again. I am not a big fan of sage so I did cut that in 1/2, there wasn't that strong of an orange flavor. If I do try it again I'll probably add some orange zest. Not bad... just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States