Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I personally don't like onions, so I didn't eat these, but it was a huge hit with the family!! Very easy and smelled good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I also used the beef bouillon and it was ridiculously delicious!! My wife and daughter LOVED them. Thanks for sharing. I have a feeling I will be making these very often. Update: made them again the next night. This time I added a little bit of minced garlic in the center of the onion! I enjoyed the added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Darling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Good stuff! I like them to most, Claire has them once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I don't know what went wrong. they were just middle of the road. maybe the salt, but I anticipated it and cut bullion in half and used unsalted butter. I'm gonna give this another shot...I know these guys are gonna be jim dandy with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is really stupendous. My husband will eat anything onion. But while I like onions as a flavoring, I don't normally eat An Onion. I don't even put a slice of onion on my hamburgers. But this? I made two vidalia onions for the two of us, figuring I could share mine with my husband. NOPE. I ate it all. I used vidalia onions, "Better Than Boullion" Beef Base and much less butter because we're on diets. And it was still divine. BRAVO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
OUTRAGEOUS!!!!! can't wait to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allendale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
As written the recipe is just okay but it can really be adjusted to be excellent. I peel and cut the end opposite the root off, scoop some of the center out and then make vertical slices down the onion ( careful not to cut right to the bottom) and I spread the onion open ( like a flower/blooming onion) sprinkle the hole of the onion and inside of the onion sections with a little less than a teaspoon full of beef bouillon granules, a pinch of brown sugar, pepper and small butter chunks. Double wrap in foil and bake in a pan at 375 for almost an hour. Then when I open the foil packets I add some shredded Jarlsberg/mozzarella cheese and a few croutons. It tastes JUST like french onion soup, it is excellent and everyone so far has loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
We make these all the time, and love them! I cut each onion down the middle a few times to get it to 'flare' out (think Bloomin' Onion) a bit. Just try not to cut clear through, but if you do, no worries. It's dinner, not rocket science! Not only does this help with the cooking, but it allows the onion to release more of its juices. I smear the butter on the top of the onion, and top with bouillon granules. They will dissolve and you won't end up with a chunk that didn't disperse. Double wrap each onion with heavy duty foil. I put the onion in the middle of the foil and grab the ends together and squeeze them at the top. This allows the juice a space to collect, without leaking out of a seam. If your foil gets a hole in it and the juices leak out, the onion won't cook properly, and it won't be as sweet. These are best with a sweet onion, such as Vidalia, although Walla Walla would be excellent as well. We use these as a side dish, cooking 1 onion per person. We have always used beef bouillon, but will try chicken, or a soup base next time, or some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Sounds great, but salty! Bullion is salty!I always make my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
We have made these delicious grilled onions many times. One caution - be very careful not to overcook. It all depends how hot you run your grill. Also, I have started double wrapping them just in case the foil gets a hole or tear. You don't want all those yummy juices escaping. They can also be done in an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States