Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I made the following changes to this recipe; its not that I didn’t like this recipe as it was published, but I wanted more of a beef flavor in the onions so it taste more like French onion soup. Therefore, I made the following changes. I use Beef base instead of the bullion (about tablespoon for a medium size onion) this gives it more of an intense beef flavor like French onion soup, also mixed in some mozzarella cheese along with the soup base before placing it in the center, then topped it with the butter. It is imperative that the onions be wrapped tight with at least two layers of foil to insure the juice remains within the package when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I love this recipe - baked, grilled, or microwaved! I first learned the microwave version of this Vidalia onion recipe. (Using a melon baller, scoop top of onion. Fill cavity with beef bouillon granules, top with butter. Cover loosely, microwave about 4 minutes, or until tender.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I've been making BBQ onions this way for years. They are AWESOME! I add a splash of white wine or Southern Comfort or whiskey or whatever sounds good before wrapping it up. The alcohol will cook off and leave an incredible flavor mixed with the boullion and butter. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
These are really tasty - but be sure to use the BIG onions like the recipe calls for. I tried this the second time with smaller onions and they were so salty because of the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
These were awesome. I don't really like raw onions and I wanted something to make them taste good. This worked so well, and you can use it with almost anything. So....good. Can't wait till the next grilled dinner....Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
I used beef bouillon and put the onions on the grill. They tasted like french onion soup and were absolutely delicious! I used medium sized onions and they only took about 20-30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
What an amazing recipe! And SO easy. I didn't really believe that this would taste like french onion soup, but it really does. Just be sure your coals are really hot, because the onions will take quite a while to get really nice and soft. I tried doing some over medium coals with large onions and it took almost 2 hours. If you really want the french onion soup experience you can put the onion with the juice (and there is a LOT of juice) into an oven-safe bowl, add slices of french bread, top with cheese and throw it under the broiler until the cheese is melted. Alone, this recipe is fantastic though. I make it all the time now and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
My hubby made this using beef bouillon instead of the chicken. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I cut the recipe in half and added some minced garlic. I made this version to go with grilled turkey. I have to say I definitely like grilled onion with beef boullion much better, it just has a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
These are fantastic, but I always use beef boullion for more flavor. I put them on the grill for about 45 minutes or until they caramelize on the outside. Tastes just like French Onion soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Romaine

Grilling romaine lettuce gives it a delicious kick in the pants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States