Grilled Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
So easy, fast and deliscious(I used microwave suggestion - 2 med onions were done in 4 1/2 minutes)! So good I can't even tell you. I tried 1 with chicken bullion and 1 with beef and I can't pick a favorite. We will be having these often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I'd say these were pretty good - I used a reduced salt chicken boullion, so it wasn't too salty for my taste. I made them in the oven, but I don't think I cooked them long enough, or at a high enough temperature, as they were a little underdone after an hour of cooking. I think the recipe would be really easy to modify for different spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Great! Reminds me of the county fair. The size of your onion does matter for cooking time. My medium size onion was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I am extremely picky about handing out praise for a recipe, but this one is more than deserving. Perfect every time, with a deep, rich taste. This is a side dish for many of my dinners. I also use this to create grilled onions for many other dishes (fajitas, pita sandwiches, etc). You cannot go wrong trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
WOW! This was FANTASTIC! I used a Vidalia onion and I must say, right after I ate it, I called my mother to tell her to make one! I love that it takes such little time to make, you can make as many or few as you'd like. Still couldn't get my daughter to try it..haha.. but it was delicious!!!!! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I used one large onion and one small. In the large one I used a buillion cube and it was so salty by salt-loving boyfriend couldn't eat all of it. The small one I used chicken soup base and it was good but still too salty. Next time we will use 1-2 tsp of soup base and a bit less butter. Also, watch the grilling time. The large one was done in about 45 mins. Thanks for the recipe, we can't wait to try it again, with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I love this recipe - baked, grilled, or microwaved! I first learned the microwave version of this Vidalia onion recipe. (Using a melon baller, scoop top of onion. Fill cavity with beef bouillon granules, top with butter. Cover loosely, microwave about 4 minutes, or until tender.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I made the following changes to this recipe; its not that I didn’t like this recipe as it was published, but I wanted more of a beef flavor in the onions so it taste more like French onion soup. Therefore, I made the following changes. I use Beef base instead of the bullion (about tablespoon for a medium size onion) this gives it more of an intense beef flavor like French onion soup, also mixed in some mozzarella cheese along with the soup base before placing it in the center, then topped it with the butter. It is imperative that the onions be wrapped tight with at least two layers of foil to insure the juice remains within the package when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Pretty Tasty. Could use more than one bouillon cube per onion, though. I cooked mine over the barbeque grill (propane) and it took them exactly 1 hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This recipe is for onion lovers and I am one. Very good and easy too. I did use chicken base instead of the bouillon cube (too much salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Balsamic vinegar gives grilled zucchini delicious caramelized flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States