Grilled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My family really enjoyed this quick and easy recipe. After placing the orka on the grill, I brushed on the melted butter and sprinkled on the cajun spice. We will make this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
YUM! The char-grilled taste was wonderful. I found the flavor was better with just a little butter and just slight sprinkling of seasoning. Rolling it in seasoning made it just a little too strong. We used Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I only had pre-sliced okra, but it worked out well. I used Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning as well. You may want to sprinkle the seasoning, as another reviewer said, rolling the okra around in in makes it too strong. I made that mistake as well, so next time I will sprinkle the seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful way to prepare okra or any type of squash I'd imagine. I took other reviewers suggestions into account. I poured the butter over in in a bowl and added about 1/8 cup creole seasonings. The grilled charred taste is awesome. Thanks for a simple recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I did use olive oil instead of melted butter, but this was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I've been grilling okra for years - we love the whole pods (much easier preparation) grilled with olive oil and coarse salt and pepper. Love the cajun seasoning idea!!! Adds zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
this was about the only way i've never eaten okra and it was very good. there is no need to oil the grill since the okra has already been dipped in melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
What a refreshing new way to eat okra! I just brushed butter on them and sprinkled some "Slap ya Mama" cajun seasoning on some garden fresh okra-so easy and good. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Amazing recipe and a convenient relief to having to fry/pickle all the okra from a garden. Sprinkling the seasoning is more my wife and my pace...And I hate to say this (since fried okra is one of my favorite foods) but this recipe definitely rivals fired okra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
this was just awesome!! we were thrilled that there is no slime. just great flavor. it's best to use the smaller more tender okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States