Grilled Mustard Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
"MMM MMM," said my husband when he tasted this. I did everything 'as is,' I only substituted garlic salt for celery salt and olive oil for canola because I didn't have any; I added a bit of cayenne pepper for kick. Mustard, oil and vinegar were spot on. Tastes better when the potatoes have been marinating in the dressing for awhile. Light and flavorful, I'll be making it again, I've been told.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Thanks Krista for this wonderful light and flavorful potato salad recipe. My boyfriend hates mayo so this was a wonderful change. I especially liked the grilling of the potatoes after par cooking, it gave the potatoes such a wonderful texture. (2 thumbs up!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is easy and a good alternative to the mayonnaise-heavy kind. I added some dill and some horseradish, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Good hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Thank you Krista for this delicious recipe. I will make it over and over again I'm sure! As far as changes, I only had Yukon Gold potatoes, so that was all I used, but I'm sure it's delicious with the red-skins combined with Yukons, so I'll try it that way next time. Since I made this in the middle of the last big snowstorm we had I just broiled the potatoes in my oven. I lined the broiler pan with foil and it was very easy... and as another reviewer said, it gives the potatoes a great texture and helps them absorb some of the delicious dressing. Finally, because we're all bacon fanatics in our house, I added 4 crumbled slices and then, just because, I threw in about 1/4C. chopped celery and 1/4C. chopped green onion. I'm sorry! I know I shouldn't make so many changes, but OMG it was really, really delicious... even better than Grandma's German Potato Salad from my childhood! Again Krista, many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
that was some good stuff. if you dont take the time to make this. quit cooking. the only change i made was i made a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzzardjrt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
A very simple and tasty recipe that you can adjust to your liking with the ingredients and herbs you have on hand. I made a few changes that I would recommend. * First, I used regular mustard instead of dijon, and it turned out great with the regular yellow picnic mustard. * I used all red potatoes, and used organic extra virgin olive oil because I only keep that oil on hand (and use it for all baking/cooking regardless of instructions... because I dislike having a cupboard full of condiments!). I used celery seed plus a bit of salt because I don't have celery salt. I also added 2 very large cloves of garlic, minced, and a handful of fresh rosemary from my garden, coarsely chopped. * Once I cooked the potatoes, I coated them with the entire mixture, then transferred them to a single layer on foiled pans. Brioled in the oven until brown, turning them once (broiled for about 10 minutes, watching carefully). * Once that was all done I cooled them, then tossed with a few shakes of dried dill in the original bowl that I had mixed them in (there was about a tablespoon of the oil mixture left). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We loved this. Next time I will cut back a bit on the canola oil, but the flavor was delicious and complimented our grilled chicken perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I didn't try the entire recipe, but I did use the dijon vinigrette on my reguarly prepared potato salad - and it was amazing. A perfect mayo alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Great side dish for grilling. Took to a suprise b-day party and it was a hit. Did add fresh herbs on other occasions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Amazing! I put EVOO on the potatoes right b4 grilling and then after grilling put the potatoes in a freezer bag with the marinade and set in fridge for a few hours to soak up the marinade. Right b4 serving I chopped up some fresh cilantro about 1/2 c worth and tossed it in the salad. Everyone loved it! Was terrific~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States