Grilled Mushroom Swiss Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great recipe - fantastic touch with the soy in the mushrooms. Some slight variations for my health conscious family: Burgers: - Seasoned with 1 egg, 2 tbsp of water, 1/4 dry multigrain breadcrumbs (can use regular), 1 small onion finely chopped, 2 tsp of dijon mustard, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 worcestershire sauce for every 1 lb of lean ground beef. (Didn't use the meat tenderizer since the water kept it moist) - Added swiss cheese to each burger when cooked and on the grill. (Can be done in a pan as well - make sure to drain the fat) Mushrooms: - A little extra virgin olive oil instead of butter - Added 1/4 tsp minced garlic to warm olive oil - Brought the temperature down to medium and lay fresh sliced mushrooms flat on a skillet and let it stew in its own juices rather than stirring. This brings out the full flavour of the mushrooms. - Added the soy at when the mushrooms were near cooked (last minute or two) Additions: - Using the same olive oil in the mushroom skillet, added 1 medium red onion cut into thin rounds and sautéed. Okay to stir. - Used multigrain thin bread bun thins (Earthgrains 100% Multigrain Thin Buns are really good - can be found in any grocery store, Nature's own multigrain sandwich rounds are great too, Dempster's Thinfuls are available in Canada, but not as healthy at the others) - Used baby spinach leaves instead of lettuce on the buns - Added a few hot peppers to top off the burger for a little kick Amazing - will be making more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was just okay, I made some modifications and hoped it would be more like a restaurant mushroom-swiss burger. In addition to the seasoning salt, I also added freshly ground black pepper and minced garlic to the ground beef. I sautéd fresh baby portobello mushrooms instead of canned and also added grilled onions. Still, it was good but not great. A nice base recipe I'll keep experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Delicious! Super fast to prepare too. We didn't need any other stuff on our burgers. I used less soy sauce because I didn't want the mushrooms to get too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
As written I would give 3.5 stars. I made this a couple times trying to improve upon it to fit our tastes and I found adding a can of Golden Mushroom condensed soup, in lieu of the soy sauce, to the mushrooms really gives it a thicker and much tastier sauce. Fresh mushrooms cooked in butter up the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These were wonderful! I used ground chuck and fresh mushrooms. So so good! Next time I may use a lower sodium soy sauce! I will def. make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was a nice change! I added extra seasonings and garlic to the burger mix, though. Loved the mushrooms with the soy sauce! I even added onions.......Mmmmmmm! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The soy sauce was not something I would have thought to add, but it certainly gives the mushrooms that savory flavor. Yum! I also add garlic butter to my buns before I laid them on the skillet I'd just cooked the mushrooms in. I love Red Robin's mushroom Swiss burger and this came super close for a fraction of the cost of eating it at the restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Instead of soy sauce i used a dash of balsamic vinegar in the mushrooms and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Blair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a great change from the usual toppings. I've been trying different combinations lately to escape burger boredom. This is too simple not to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The best mushroom swiss burger ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States