Grilled Mushroom Swiss Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
A simple mushroom Swiss burger that is great comfort food too. I used fresh mushrooms and teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce as I ran out of soy sauce. Overall, this recipe is what you would expect mushroom Swiss to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
love this recipe, ran out of lower sodium soy sauce, so used some lea & perrins worcestershirie sauce, works well with the earthy musrooms, omitted most of the salt and added garlic powder, the swiss was nice, also made a few using some sliced pepperjack cheese, for my spicy friends, thanx for a great burger recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
It came out really salty I will never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
If you want to kick this up a notch, and make it taste like restaurant mushroom burger sauce, stir a little dollop of sour cream into your mushroom mixture after you've taken it off the heat. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great recipe, we also used fresh mushrooms and added some onions, definitely better than a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Instead of soy sauce i used a dash of balsamic vinegar in the mushrooms and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The soy sauce was not something I would have thought to add, but it certainly gives the mushrooms that savory flavor. Yum! I also add garlic butter to my buns before I laid them on the skillet I'd just cooked the mushrooms in. I love Red Robin's mushroom Swiss burger and this came super close for a fraction of the cost of eating it at the restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a great change from the usual toppings. I've been trying different combinations lately to escape burger boredom. This is too simple not to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great recipe - fantastic touch with the soy in the mushrooms. Some slight variations for my health conscious family: Burgers: - Seasoned with 1 egg, 2 tbsp of water, 1/4 dry multigrain breadcrumbs (can use regular), 1 small onion finely chopped, 2 tsp of dijon mustard, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 worcestershire sauce for every 1 lb of lean ground beef. (Didn't use the meat tenderizer since the water kept it moist) - Added swiss cheese to each burger when cooked and on the grill. (Can be done in a pan as well - make sure to drain the fat) Mushrooms: - A little extra virgin olive oil instead of butter - Added 1/4 tsp minced garlic to warm olive oil - Brought the temperature down to medium and lay fresh sliced mushrooms flat on a skillet and let it stew in its own juices rather than stirring. This brings out the full flavour of the mushrooms. - Added the soy at when the mushrooms were near cooked (last minute or two) Additions: - Using the same olive oil in the mushroom skillet, added 1 medium red onion cut into thin rounds and sautéed. Okay to stir. - Used multigrain thin bread bun thins (Earthgrains 100% Multigrain Thin Buns are really good - can be found in any grocery store, Nature's own multigrain sandwich rounds are great too, Dempster's Thinfuls are available in Canada, but not as healthy at the others) - Used baby spinach leaves instead of lettuce on the buns - Added a few hot peppers to top off the burger for a little kick Amazing - will be making more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These were wonderful! I used ground chuck and fresh mushrooms. So so good! Next time I may use a lower sodium soy sauce! I will def. make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States