Grilled Montana Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
How can you go wrong with fresh trout? If you do, it's user error. :). Our error was that we had truly whole fish and were not able to butterfly them properly. I suspect it is because we are city folks and not familiar with how to filet. Soooo...it was hard to put all the 'stuff' inside as it kept falling out and then when cooked..lots o bones and mess. We did figure out how to get rid of the spine which helped but the recipe did not say to cut the fins or tail so we left them on which caused some angst in the form of more bones. Bottom line - taste was great but I would have preferred proper filets. Used fresh herbs from my garden including dill, cilantro and rosemary. Delicious but watch those bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
AWESOME!! Made exactly as the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Cooked perfectly on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very tasty! Only changes I made: - sprayed the foil with non-stick baking spray before putting the fish on it to keep it from sticking - cooked on a propane grill at medium high heat for about 10 minutes w/o flipping it - I only had dried parsley, so used about 1/4 of what the recipe called for in fresh herbs. I think this could be increased because parsley has such a light flavor. This is my new favorite trout recipe! Flavorful but it doesn't overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this recipe several times, turns out great every times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Baked in foil in the oven for 10 minutes.. Worked great. 400 deg F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Looking for an easy / good tasting recipe for your trout, look no further. Trout turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made this for a big outdoor party and was very pleased with it. I did substitute chardonnay and olive oil instead of using butter. I'd make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Best trout recipe to date!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
First time I've made fish this way, and I was very pleased with how easy and good it was. I don't know if this has happened to anyone else, but the skin stuck to the foil when I pulled the foil off, and I considered that a plus. I used lime and varied the herbs a bit (replaced rosemary with winter savory).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States