Grilled Mexican Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe! My family loves this recipe. The leftovers are awesome cut-up on a salad the next day. We use 2 or 3 jalapenos rather than 5 and a 1/4 c pre-ground cumin. We use whatever hunk of meat is the cheapest that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Not impressed with this recipe. Cut the cilantro way down per suggestions of other reviewers, about a quarter of what was called for. Both DH and I felt the cooked flank tasted grassy. And we were both surprised that the meat wasn't more tender. It marinated for 48 hours and was cooked rare. We have other recipes that we enjoy much more. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
After reading the reviews, I did adjust the amount of cilantro, but still ended up with lots of marinade, but that was no issue. It looked like Martian food when I went to grill it, but smelled terrific and even the non red meat eaters enjoyed. We used top sirloin grilling stake as I am not sure what skirt or flank is, must be localized word for the same thing. We did use pre-ground cumin to save time, the result was fantastic! thanks TA91!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYROY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
First of all, the default quantity of ingredients this calls for is absurd. Three pounds of meat? Two bunches of cilantro? An entire jar of cumin seeds? The amount of food this made would feed every inmate in a Juarez prison. I ended up having to make a second trip to the grocers to buy more meat, once I had discovered the monstrous amount of marinade I had staring at me from my pan. Secondly, toasting the cumin seeds and pureeing the cilantro gave my house a bizarre odor, which I found off-putting. For the amount of work this took to prepare, I don't think it's deserving of all the fanfare. The meat ended up being edible, which is at least something. I say "adios" to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Interesting taste. I would cook it again, but I don't think you need half a cup of cumin or two bunches of cilantro. I would cut in half, for sure. I love strong flavors so for me to make this suggestion means it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made for Cinco de Mayo -- and got rave reviews from the entire crowd. I used a london broil instead of skirt steak. Kept the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We loved it! I was a little worried that it would be too hot for my younger children with 5 jalepenos, but it was perfect. I made the marinade and marinated it for 3 days. I used the ground cumin also and I used petite sirloins. I grilled it a little longer on my indoor grill- close to 15 minutes on each side- and it was still pretty pink on the inside. I served it with Mexican Rice II. I uploaded a photo to share with everyone too. It was a great change from a traditional steak. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this marinade was delicious - i did not strictly follow the quantities but you don't have to - the ingredients are so fresh and the combo is absolutely delicious. also - and most importantly to a member of the instant gratification generation - the steak was perfect after marinading for ONLY 4 hours!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I did use 1/4 c of the preground cumin instead of the seed as suggested by TeaChef. I also substituted the fresh jalepenos for the jar jalepenos and used about 3/4 cup, because that is what I had on hand at the time. Beware the cilantro, 2 bunches is a little vague for me. Somehow I interpreted this as two whole bunches from the grocery store. However in my area we are blessed with some pretty large bunches. I used about a 1/4 of one of my bunches and it was very thick and very, very green. I was concerned that perhaps I had ruined the recipe, but after scraping off the marinade and grilling my family really loved it. My suggestion is to add the cilantro to the food processor slowly until you get the consistency you like. Good recipe though, easy and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States