Grilled Mexican Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nice recipe, of course Imade some changes to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was so juicy and had so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I used flank steak and marinaded it for 48 hours, then cooked it on the grill. I did not have the cilantro, but used everything else. The steak was surprisingly tender for flank steak and had so much flavor. I will definitely be using this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was magnificent! Everyone raved. Only change I made was using 1/4 cup of pre-ground cumin since I didn't have any of the seed. The blender was already out, so used it instead of the food processer. I marinated the steak for 24hrs. Served it along with grilled peppers and onion, a salad of chunked cucumber, tomatoes and minced red onion and MORE cilantro tossed in PaulNewman's new Light Lime Viniagrette, and finally AllRecipe's "Sweet Corn Cake" recipe. Umm, ummmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I did use 1/4 c of the preground cumin instead of the seed as suggested by TeaChef. I also substituted the fresh jalepenos for the jar jalepenos and used about 3/4 cup, because that is what I had on hand at the time. Beware the cilantro, 2 bunches is a little vague for me. Somehow I interpreted this as two whole bunches from the grocery store. However in my area we are blessed with some pretty large bunches. I used about a 1/4 of one of my bunches and it was very thick and very, very green. I was concerned that perhaps I had ruined the recipe, but after scraping off the marinade and grilling my family really loved it. My suggestion is to add the cilantro to the food processor slowly until you get the consistency you like. Good recipe though, easy and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this marinade was delicious - i did not strictly follow the quantities but you don't have to - the ingredients are so fresh and the combo is absolutely delicious. also - and most importantly to a member of the instant gratification generation - the steak was perfect after marinading for ONLY 4 hours!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We loved it! I was a little worried that it would be too hot for my younger children with 5 jalepenos, but it was perfect. I made the marinade and marinated it for 3 days. I used the ground cumin also and I used petite sirloins. I grilled it a little longer on my indoor grill- close to 15 minutes on each side- and it was still pretty pink on the inside. I served it with Mexican Rice II. I uploaded a photo to share with everyone too. It was a great change from a traditional steak. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made for Cinco de Mayo -- and got rave reviews from the entire crowd. I used a london broil instead of skirt steak. Kept the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Interesting taste. I would cook it again, but I don't think you need half a cup of cumin or two bunches of cilantro. I would cut in half, for sure. I love strong flavors so for me to make this suggestion means it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
First of all, the default quantity of ingredients this calls for is absurd. Three pounds of meat? Two bunches of cilantro? An entire jar of cumin seeds? The amount of food this made would feed every inmate in a Juarez prison. I ended up having to make a second trip to the grocers to buy more meat, once I had discovered the monstrous amount of marinade I had staring at me from my pan. Secondly, toasting the cumin seeds and pureeing the cilantro gave my house a bizarre odor, which I found off-putting. For the amount of work this took to prepare, I don't think it's deserving of all the fanfare. The meat ended up being edible, which is at least something. I say "adios" to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States