Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I will make this often especially during the summer months when fresh vegetables are in abundance. Very flavorful and not too time consuming. A big hit with my husband and teenaged son. I didn't have foccacia bread so I used Judy Talbert's recipe for French Baguettes. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Great Taste! My meatlover husband liked it!!!! He asked me to cook it at least once a month for him. Keeps good in fridge for several days. Warm in a toster oven until the bread gets cripy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Another great recipe! This went over big at a baby shower. Everyone is asking for the recipe. I did make one sandwich with olive oil instead of the mayo and garlic spread and it was wonderful as well. Some hints: You can buy roasted red peppers in the jar at the store which saves a lot of time. Also, slice the eggplant fairly thick. I sliced it too thin to start and it stuck to the cookie sheet when I roasted it. I will make this over and over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe was really yummy. It took away the tanginess of the peppers and eggplant and made them perfect for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is delicious! I added 1/4 teaspoons of dried rosemary and basil along with 1 tablespoon of pesto to the garlic and mayonnaise. This gave the mayonnaise a herbal taste, which enhanced the taste of the sandwich greatly. I will add this to my collection of favorite recipes. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I added a little balsamic vinegar to the mix and it was fantastic. Make sure your veggies are somewhat dry or else it can get a little gooey after sitting for two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This sandwich was worth every minute it took to prepare it. My husband especially loved it. The only change I would make would be to add fresh spinach leaves between the vegetables and the bread so that the bread doesn't get soggy, which ours did in a couple of places. Or else blot the veggies very well with paper towel to soak up any excess moisture. I intend to try this with Feta cheese next time and perhaps add some grilled red onion. This is a wonderful sandwich for a picnic. We will be enjoying it often this summer! Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Absolutely LOVED this sandwich! We added tomato/basil feta cheese and used a loaf of asiago cheese bread. Delicious! Using jarred roasted red peppers is a big time saver too. We make this every couple of weeks now (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
this was great - i actually got two foccaccia breads and did one with the mayo spread and one with olive oil and herbs. both were great and got excellent reviews from my partygoers (vegetarians and carnivores), and they disappeared faster than anything that i've ever served a party before. so tasty, and light too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Oh goodness, this is incredible. I was in the kitchen FOREVER it seemed making it-I made my own focaccia bread, also from this site, so that did increase my time. However, I did use packaged roasted red peppers to save some time. This sandwich was so, so good. My hubby and his brother both were wrinkling their noses when they saw the eggplant, yet after eating it, they each gave it a 10. They loved it! It is such a nice change and just tasted so darn good. I will be making this often! Thanks for sharing this spectacular recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States