Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is truly a gourmet sandwich!!! I prepared the veggies a day in advance and was glad that I did because it gave the peppers a chance to release some of their juices which I then drained off. I also layered sauteed red onion on the sandwich and added chopped fresh basil to the mayo mixture. Very flavorful and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Another great recipe! This went over big at a baby shower. Everyone is asking for the recipe. I did make one sandwich with olive oil instead of the mayo and garlic spread and it was wonderful as well. Some hints: You can buy roasted red peppers in the jar at the store which saves a lot of time. Also, slice the eggplant fairly thick. I sliced it too thin to start and it stuck to the cookie sheet when I roasted it. I will make this over and over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This was SO GOOD!!! I used Terri McCarroll's "Focaccia Bread" recipe (from this site). I added fresh herbs (garlic, parsley, sage, oregano, basil, and rosemary) to the bread dough. For the grilled veggies I used a sliced Portabello mushroom, fresh green pepper, Walla Walla sweet onions, and some frozen red and yellow pepper slices. The eggplant and mushroom were oven roasted, as described in the recipe, except that I used an olive oil spray (quicker and easier than brushing with oil). The sliced onion and pepper were quickly stir fried in a non-stick pan, also lightly coated with an olive oil spray. I used low-fat mayo, to round out this healthy and delicious sandwich. (I was skeptical about whether I'd like grilled eggplant, but found it was fabulous). Give this sandwich a try, and it will make a believer of you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
A remarkably delicious sandwich which prompts interest simply by it's appearance. I've made it for numerous potluck suppers, this years family reunion table, today's Fourth of July gathering table and for several small lunches for special friends. It has always been well received and the recipe has been requested again and again. Thus far, I prepare the sandwich pretty much as written but offer the following notes: 1. I use a plain, round Focaccia bread. 2. A medium size eggplant is sufficient. 3. I slice the eggplant in rounds instead of strips as the Focaccia I use is round and the rounds of eggplant seem to fit more easily. 4. I use a fat free (not a reduced fat) salad dressing instead of mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Loved the sandwich! Used pre-packaged sun roasted red peppers instead of fresh ones and omited the mayo and maked a mixture of herbs, 1 clove of fresh crushed garlic and a little bit of olive oil to brush on both sides of the bread before placing the veggies on the sandwich. I also added a slice of mozarella cheese to each sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This sandwich was worth every minute it took to prepare it. My husband especially loved it. The only change I would make would be to add fresh spinach leaves between the vegetables and the bread so that the bread doesn't get soggy, which ours did in a couple of places. Or else blot the veggies very well with paper towel to soak up any excess moisture. I intend to try this with Feta cheese next time and perhaps add some grilled red onion. This is a wonderful sandwich for a picnic. We will be enjoying it often this summer! Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I served these at a lunch that I made for some of our friends. They were SOOOOO GOOD - gone in a flash! I bought Asiago cheese focaccia from Panera, roasted the eggplant and fried up some red onions in olive oil the day before. I bought the roasted red peppers and some fresh mozzarella. Overnight I stored the eggplant, onions and peppers in a Tupperware with a paper towel to absorb some of the juices. Then the next morning I flipped the Tupperware upside down to soak up more of the moisture. I prepared these about an hour prior to eating them and did not press them down and they were fine and not at all soggy. As a spread I used store bought refrigerated pesto mixed with mayo as suggested on another review. These were full of flavor. I will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Great Taste! My meatlover husband liked it!!!! He asked me to cook it at least once a month for him. Keeps good in fridge for several days. Warm in a toster oven until the bread gets cripy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
This is an amazing sandwich. I made it for a 4th of July picnic, hoping to find something that my vegetarian boyfriend and I could enjoy together since I am not a vegetarian. It was perfect. I sliced the peppers and put them in with the eggplant instead of roasting them separately. It speeded up the process. I also used garlic salt and onion powder instead of a clove of garlic. I am normally not a big fan of eggplant either, but this recipe is wonderful. Try it some summer afternoon with a big glass of iced tea:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I minced the garlic so that it would be easier to mix with the mayonnaise. I also added onions and Swiss cheese. I loved the portabello mushrooms; they were my favorite part of the sandwich. As noted by another reviewer, I'm puzzled as to why the recipe is called "Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich" when the vegetables are actually cooked in the oven. I chose to cook my vegetables on a George Foreman Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States