Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Great recipe. Leftovers tasted great to me. The red peppers did have high moisture content. I recommend preparing the peppers in advance and draining off at least some of the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This sandwich was excellent. I too grilled some red onion to add to the sandwich nd in the summer I will add some fresh basil that I grow onto this as well. My favorite part was adding the minced garlic to the mayo. What a wonderful and gourmet taste! This will be a staple in the summer with all the fresh produce I buy from the wonderful Pennsylvania Farmer's Market all around me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This is truly a gourmet sandwich!!! I prepared the veggies a day in advance and was glad that I did because it gave the peppers a chance to release some of their juices which I then drained off. I also layered sauteed red onion on the sandwich and added chopped fresh basil to the mayo mixture. Very flavorful and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I keep the sliced veggies and hand and roast up just enough for my lunch. It's also good just on wheat bread with hummus and red onion is a nice addition to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
It was pretty good when I first made it, but it definitely did not make good leftovers. I had way too much eggplant left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
A remarkably delicious sandwich which prompts interest simply by it's appearance. I've made it for numerous potluck suppers, this years family reunion table, today's Fourth of July gathering table and for several small lunches for special friends. It has always been well received and the recipe has been requested again and again. Thus far, I prepare the sandwich pretty much as written but offer the following notes: 1. I use a plain, round Focaccia bread. 2. A medium size eggplant is sufficient. 3. I slice the eggplant in rounds instead of strips as the Focaccia I use is round and the rounds of eggplant seem to fit more easily. 4. I use a fat free (not a reduced fat) salad dressing instead of mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This was fabulous!! I could not find portabello mushrooms, I used regular ones. I also used roasted red peppers from the jar and roasted green pappers myself. We had leftovers and it was even better the next day with all the flavors marinating overnight!! Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Very good! I made a few changes to the original recipe. My husband and I don't really care for eggplant so I substituted zucchini instead and roasted some carrots also. I also used pesto in place of the mayo and garlic. Rather than letting it sit for two hours I put all the veggies in between the bread with a little mozzerella and grilled the sandwich in a two sided grill until it was flattened. Very good! I am making it again this weekend for my in-laws with a french onion soup recipe I found on this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I loved this sandwich,had one very similar in Oz which had sundried tomato's and balsamic vinegar then was put in oven for a few minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States