Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
A little messy, but a tasty and healthy sandwich! The garlic mayo is the highlight of this recipe and multiple types of vegis could be substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this for a wine country picnic for my birthday, it was a hit! I added grilled chicken to give it a little more meat to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I will definitely be keeping this recipe! Since I used an unherbed rustic bread instead of focaccia, I added some italian herb seasoning to the mayo/garlic spread. Also sauteed sliced red onions with the mushrooms, and used jarred marinated roast red peppers instead of roasting fresh peppers in the oven.... much easier. Lastly, I added provolone cheese, wrapped the sandwich in foil, and baked in the oven until the cheesy was melted and the bread was crispy. The sandwich got tons of raves from my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jory1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very good, but we didn't like the eggplant. I know vegetarian is the idea here, but with some chicken slices, we would have liked this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I made this the other day and couldn't believe it was something I made. It tasted so gourmet. I did make a few minor changes. I roasted the garlic and eggplant in the microwave. The roasted garlic was added to the mayo for garlicky spread. I also used jarred roasted red peppers, which I had draining on some paper towels. Everything else I kept the same. Fantastic! I truly can NOT get enough of this sandwich. Oh and I used regular ole toasted hoagie's. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wonderful recipe and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I would opt out one of the red bell peppers with a golden one for variety, add some fresh rosemary to the veggies, use a vegan based low-fat mayo and add a tablespoon of pesto to the mayo. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great recipe. I added some crumbled feta cheese after I spread the mayo mixture on the bread. I served this at a luncheon for a group of women and everyone loved it. I also roasted fresh red bell pepper on my grill. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Good stuff :) Replaced: Roasted red peppers in a jar for fresh peppers I added: asparagus sliced red onions sprinkled salt, pepper, dried herbs (thyme, rosemary and basil) feta cheese Some other changes: I sprinkled the herbs, salt and pepper on my veggies (except the mushrooms) and roasted all of them. I let them sit and cool for a while. I halved the bread lengthwise and lightly toasted it in oven. Then after putting on all of the veggies and the cheese, I nuked it in the microwave for about 15-30 seconds (not too much). Everyone enjoyed the sandwich--my father and brother had seconds. I think it will taste even better the next day (I made two) and I will try pesto next time instead of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I served these at a party and got so many enthusiastic compliments! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States