Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband liked this one. He loves Garlic. Overtime I altered it slightly to make something simple/quick without mayo. I would toss the veggies in olive oil and use a 1/2 packet of McCormicks Grill Mates Zesty Herb then I would broil the veggies until softened. And add to my slightly toasty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This sandwich is DELICIOUS. I did make a few changes, but I think it would be good a variety of ways. I swapped the mushrooms for sun dried tomatoes and added some provolone, then grilled the whole thing in my Foreman grill to melt the cheese and give the bread a nice crispy texture. I wish I had taken the advice of another reviewer and sliced the eggplant thicker - some of the thinner slices shrank and burned. Overall, the flavors melded really well together - the garlic mayo is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Prepped the roasted red bell pepper the night before, and drained in te fridge in container with paper towels. My eggplant stuck really bad to the tin foil, and ripped when peeling off. After assembling, placed a pan with a few cans on top. When checking on the sandwich, found a watery mess squirted out of the wrapped sandwich. Gross. Tasted so-so, will not be attempting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Great sandwiches, I made them for a party where we had a lot of vegetarians, and not one of the carnivores missed the meat (or even noticed!). I used a jar of roasted red pepper for ease and instead of the mayo mixure I used hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Really yummy and filling! I did modify slightly by making a pesto mayonnaise (equal parts pesto and mayo), and I sliced a sweet onion and roasted it with the eggplant. Also used jarred roasted red peppers for convenience. After reading other reviews I was sure to dry all the vegetables before layering in the sandwich and it turned out great. I wasn't thrilled with the texture of the eggplant so I might leave it out next time. Overall flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I thought I could "sneak" some if these veggies by my husband, and boy was I wrong. I have definitely learned my lesson about eggplant.And red peppers. I used a beautiful rosemary focaccia bread, and instead of the mayo, an herbed goat cheese. I will make these again, with some substitutions for the husband. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
One of the best veggie sandwiches I've ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I can't say enough about this recipe. My husband and I have been making it weekly for about 3 years now. We have never actually used the foccaccia but instead turn it into wraps or use homemade bread. Absolutely amazing and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
wonderful. i added feta cheese and used roasted peppers from a jar. it was fabulous. even my 11 year old daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Vista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I minced the garlic so that it would be easier to mix with the mayonnaise. I also added onions and Swiss cheese. I loved the portabello mushrooms; they were my favorite part of the sandwich. As noted by another reviewer, I'm puzzled as to why the recipe is called "Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich" when the vegetables are actually cooked in the oven. I chose to cook my vegetables on a George Foreman Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States