Grilled Marinated Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME!! I made it exactly as written, which I always try to do on the first go-round because that's only fair to the submitter. That way, I'm reviewing THE RECIPE and not my new version of it. Ticks me off when some reviewers completely change the recipe and then take off stars cause they didn't like it. OK, I'll get off my soapbox now!! DH RAVED about the shrimp!! And you're gonna think I'm crazy, but try this as a side dish: reserve some of the marinade (I saved about 1/2 cup) cut a head of romaine lengthwise, leaving the core on to hold the leaves together, and allowing 1/4 head per person, drizzle the reserved marinade over it and let it sit. When the shrimp are done, cover them with foil and then throw the romaine ON THE GRILL! Cook it, turning several times, until the leaves are wilted and browning a bit. Then, either serve as a whole quarter or chop to make a bed for the shrimp! Better than pasta, cause it's a nice, crisp complement to the juicy shrimp! Thank you, Robbie, for an excellent dinner last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
714 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I have found my finance & myself to be somewhat seafood snobs so to say. I say this because we have a beach house on the cost of Louisiana where we get the freshest seafood possible. The shrimp come striaght from the gulf into our home. We've tried close to a hundred different grilled seafood recipes & this recipe was absolutely fabulous. It wasnt spicy at all unless you hate spices, because I added a little cayenne to mine. We were short on time & I marinated for maybe 30 min., added a cinammon chiptle rub, & folks this marinade was great!! Its so quick & easy you can't beat it with a stick! Leave the lemon out if you're marinading for hrs. It makes the texture of the seafood horrible! Add it about 30min befoer grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
this is like the best of all grilled shrimp recipes rolled into one! I only gave it 4 stars cuz i did change a couple things-i added the zest of the lemon (to up the freshness meter even more), and used 1/2 fresh basil 1/2 fresh parsley (mainly cuz i have a garden being overrun by both). I also added some red pepper flakes. Oh, and I find that i enjoy this recipe more when i use ketchup instead of tomato paste,as i like the sweetness it gives. This was all for personal taste, however i would strongly recommend adding the lemon zest to this ( and really almost any recipe that calls for lemon juice.). BIG difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My family loved this one. I added a little more garlic and used my George Forman (worked perfectly). I added pineaplle between the shrimp on the skwers. I threaded the bottom part of the shrimp then put a peice of the pineaplle and then the top of the shrimp went on over it....so good. And I placed the lemon slices on top of the skwers while I was grilling them. Served with Pasta Roni's Garlic and Olive Oil pasta and was so so good. You should try it. Will absoulutely make this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I made this for my father-in-law for his birthday barbque yesterday and all of our guests loved it! The main comment that people made about this grilled shrimp was "Oh my God, this Shrimp is To Die For..." My husband is usually a very fussy eater and even he liked it. Something easy to make for dinner and my husband likes it....I think hell just froze over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Don't forget to soak wooden skewers for at least 30 mins in water before to prevent burning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Concerned for hubby's sensitive innards, I decreased the amounts of oregano and hot sauce just a little as I thought both would simply make the shrimp too "hot," at least for him. Not to worry! The hot sauce was barely noticable, and didn't even have the slightest bite I was afraid wouldn't work for him. In fact, he gave this a two thumbs up, as do I. Because we had sub-zero temperatures, I made this on the indoor grill and they were just perfect! I know we will be enjoying this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I am not a big shrimp fan but my husbadn is -- these were outstanding. But, i marinated for about 4 hours, cooked for only 3 minutes per side to not overdo, and did not baste as it flared up too ,uch. They didn't need basting -- they were great. Would be great on pasta, we ate on rice, and i think would be good on top of my casear salad as well. We will make them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was rated "the best shrimp we've ever eaten" by my whole family.It taste similar to a shrimp served in a local mexican restaurant. It was slightly spicy hot but just loaded with flavor. I also did not baste while cooking since my grill flared up when doing this. It was so moist without basting, so why bother? We will fix this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Not only did my fiance want to propose to me all over again, he was ready to give me whatever I wanted after eating this shrimp! This was the best shrimp EVER!! We couldn't even focus our attention to the T-Bone steaks he had prepared! And we also normally have lemon to add to our shrimp on our plate, but not with this recipe. It didn't need anything else. We even brought some to our friends and they are all asking for the recipe as well! Can't wait to make it again!!! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States