Grilled Mahi Mahi with Roasted Pepper Sauce and Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is wonderful. Give yourself plenty of time to prepare this recipe because the pesto took forever! The amount of pesto is small so my blender was a bit big for it. I had to stop and scrape and pulse it over and over. Eventually I gave up so it was a bit crunchy but I liked it! Maybe it would make sense to double the pesto and save some for another meal. It would be great on shrimp or chicken. I broiled the mahi mahi and served it with rice and sauteed brussels sprouts. Be sure to use a dry white wine such as pinto grigio because the roasted red peppers can be quite sweet. I let the roasted red pepper sauce reduce for a while so it was thicker. Make sure you drain the peppers well because the juice can hide in the bowl of the peppers and make the sauce too thin. Both the pepper sauce and the pesto need salt and pepper before serving. Definitely try this recipe..it's great for guests if you make the sauces ahead of time. Feels like a beautiful restaurant meal! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The only things I did differently were to use ahi tuna steaks, and I cooked them on the Foreman grill. This dish is quite a lot of work but, man, it is so worth it! The sauce and pesto work beautifully together, and look so pretty. Really amazing flavors. I can't recommend this enough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
What a wonderul taste. Heads of the the chef! You did a great job, we all loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My husband loved this dish, thought the Pepper sauce and Cilantro pesto complemented each other very well. The only change I made was to roast fresh red bell peppers and the grill, instead of canned peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fruita, Colorado, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Excellent. The only changes I made were to add a little lemon to the pesto and the tuna and throw a little white wine mixed with cornstarch in my pepper sauce at the end to bind it. Neither of these changes were crucial - this recipe is wonderful as is. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Easy to prepare and wonder tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is great. Have made it with both mahi and snapper. A bit messy to make, but most definately worth the effort. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I made this for my hubby as he is the only one in our house that enjoys mahi mahi. He said if he could he would rate it a 10. I followed the directions to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Amazing! The mixture of the two sauces with the fish is delicious! My whole family adored this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Fresh ingredients make this A+ I love how the flavors of both sauces compliment each other AND the fish! A great & easy dish, yes it's easy even though it looks like alot of work, to impress your guests with. I used a mini food processor $30 from JCPenney. Worked awesome! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Mohojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States