Grilled Mahi Mahi with Roasted Pepper Sauce and Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious and very easy to make. I followed the directions exactly except for using salmon instead of mahi mahi. Both me and my boyfriend loved it. The only downside, if you can even called it that, is that there was tons of both sauces leftover...can you freeze?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow, my husband said this was 5 star restaurant quality! The only thing I changed was I sauteed the fish in a fry pan with a little butter...skin side up at first. And the only reason why I did it that way was because my grill ran out of gas just as I was ready to put it on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent. My BF caught a dolphin this past weekend and I was looking for a good recipe to prepare. I prepared as written and it was lovely and the presentation was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Delicious! I made a three substitutions based on what I had on hand. Because of a tree nut allergy I used sunflower seeds instead of walnuts, but will either omit the sunflower seeds or significantly cut this next time in the cilantro pesto, as it tasted too strong of sunflower seeds. I'm sure it is better with the walnuts, as the original recipe calls for! I also roasted my own peppers, and used a little garlic instead of the shallot. My husband raved about the red pepper sauce, and said he would have liked this sauce by itself. I preferred the compliment of the cilantro. To save time, I will double the red pepper sauce, and stick some in the freezer for a faster meal on another date. It should freeze really well, although I will make the cilantro pesto fresh. I will definitely make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
the red pepper sauce came out great. dont have an outdoor grill so i pan seared the fish in the seasoning and it came out great too. used others recommendations, next time i think i might use store bought pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik_domesticgoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My skeptical husband raved over this meal.It is not easy to impress him in the kitchen. Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This got rave reviews from my family. My father said he couldnt't imagine eating mahi mahi any other way now. I prepared the recipe as followed for the most part, although the cilantro pesto had too intense of a raw garlic flavor for my tastes, so I increased the amount of the other pesto ingredients. In the future I think I'll reduce it to one clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is wonderful. Give yourself plenty of time to prepare this recipe because the pesto took forever! The amount of pesto is small so my blender was a bit big for it. I had to stop and scrape and pulse it over and over. Eventually I gave up so it was a bit crunchy but I liked it! Maybe it would make sense to double the pesto and save some for another meal. It would be great on shrimp or chicken. I broiled the mahi mahi and served it with rice and sauteed brussels sprouts. Be sure to use a dry white wine such as pinto grigio because the roasted red peppers can be quite sweet. I let the roasted red pepper sauce reduce for a while so it was thicker. Make sure you drain the peppers well because the juice can hide in the bowl of the peppers and make the sauce too thin. Both the pepper sauce and the pesto need salt and pepper before serving. Definitely try this recipe..it's great for guests if you make the sauces ahead of time. Feels like a beautiful restaurant meal! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The only things I did differently were to use ahi tuna steaks, and I cooked them on the Foreman grill. This dish is quite a lot of work but, man, it is so worth it! The sauce and pesto work beautifully together, and look so pretty. Really amazing flavors. I can't recommend this enough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
What a wonderul taste. Heads of the the chef! You did a great job, we all loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States