Grilled Leftover Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Just based on how my kids inhaled these AND loved them, I give it a five. I didn't have sliced pineapple, just crushed pineapple. I used a 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple that I drained the crud out of and mixed it with the cream cheese. I did end up adding just a little more cream cheese, but not much. My kids fell in love with this, as did I because it used what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very good, thanks for this! To make things even easier you can use the pineapple flavored cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Not bad, but not quite as good as I had expected. I think the cream cheese was what put me off. It was really rich and creamy and was good with the pineapple but somehow it just didn't work with the toasted bread and the ham too for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is AWESOME! I did change it a bit personal taste, but I'm rating it anyway because it would work w/any personal preference cheese/bread combinations. I'm not a fan of cream cheese, so I used provolone for me (and American for Mr. LTH). I used 12 grain bread for mine (and pumpernickel for Mr. LTH). Outstanding! I've been on a ham, pineapple and onion pizza kick, so this was a much more figure friendly way to feed that craving (and I'll add some onion next time, too!). THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These are SO good! Next time I might use pineapple tidbits to make it easier to eat. I will be making these every time I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Boy oh boy, this was good! I used "Texas Toast" style bread (white bread, very thick slices)and to be honest, I didn't measure the cream cheese ... just smeared it on each side of the bread. The I added ham and pineapple, buttered the bread and grilled it like grilled cheese. OMG! SO SO good. A GREAT way to use up ham. Very filling, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Don't be fooled by how simple this sandwich is, it's fantastic! I used whipped cream cheese to keep from tearing up the bread but other than that I made them exactly as written. Served with the Topical Salad from this site which also has pineapple in it and it made for a wonderfully flavorful and light sandwich and salad dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Good. Kinda rich. Don't know how often I would have them because of that. Instead of pineapple rings, I mixed 1/4 drained crushed pineapple witht he cream cheese and spread that on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Did not like the cream cheese in this. It made the moist pineapple even more moist, making for a soppy sandwich, even though it was toasted. Would try a differnet cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Gave me a great idea for some leftover ham but knew we would not like the cream cheese with pineapple. Anyway, for us extra old cheddar is our choice - more zing and less moist sandwich. Thanks for a great creation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States