Grilled Leftover Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Yum! I added a slice of Provolone to make sure it was melted-cheesy enough, and didn't really measure the cream cheese... just covered one side of the bread. I was concerned about it being soggy as one reviewer had said, but didn't really have that problem. Granted, I happened to have part of a fresh pineapple so I was able to slice a piece that was probably thinner than a canned slice, so maybe that resolved the issue. I ate this 5/7 days this week to use up my ham and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Not a fan. Although we like the individual ingredients, together the sandwich was not a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My family really liked this! I dried the pineapple rings on paper towels before placing on the sandwich to avoid sogginess. It was great when you got a bite of all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made several changes to adapt the sandwiches to our own tastes. I used soft cream cheese with chives and smeared it on dark Rye bread, then I put on a layer of crushed pineapple which is all I had on hand, sprinkled just a little Worcestershire sauce on that. Next the ham, sprinkled a little sharp cheddar cheese and spread a thin layer of Dijon mustard on the other piece of bread. Grilled until toasted and cheese was melted. Not bad and I think the mustard and Worcestershire sauce gave it a nice depth in flavor. Not the best sandwich I've ever had but it's a nice change when you have lots of ham leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My husband and I love Hawaiian pizza and so I thought this would be the perfect sandwich to make when we need something quick and easy. Nope. Not going to make this one again. I used shredded pineapple and drained it, but even after that the bread was still soggy. We did not like the taste of the cream cheese, and we both LOVE cream cheese. I tried this with swiss cheese as well, and although it was better, I still will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
We used leftover grilled (fresh!) pineapple, cream cheese and ham on cinnamon-raisin bread. Did not grill or toast, and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was a delicious morning after Christmas brunch. I think everyone in the family would love them. The only change I made was adding some onions to the sandwich to give it a little bit more contrast in flavor from the sweetness. And beware, it is messy to eat as there is nothing in it to make the bread stick together so be prepared to eat it with a fork and knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I was served this sandwich at a tea room a few times and they used lightly toasted raisin bread. Verry yummy! I sometimes substitute pineapple marmalade for the pineapple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great sandwich, interesting taste, but in a good way! Used wheat bread, as I don't keep white bread in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I don't know how you came up with this combo, but I am so glad you did! I used sourdough bread, but did everything else the same. This was melt in my mouth delicious! I will be eating A LOT of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States