Grilled Lamb Chops with Pomegranate-Port Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this recipe for company tonight for the first time; changing it up a bit to a roast boneless leg of lamb. It came out wonderfully, to raves (even from my very picky hubby). Both the marinade and the sauce were very easy to make. I poked some holes in the meat, and then marinated it in the fridge for about 6 hours; and then roasted it in a 350 deg. oven for about 2 hours for medium rare meat. There was NOTHING left on the platter. The only thing that I would change would be to add just a little bit of thickening agen to the sauce next time; as it is a bit thin, even after simmering for almost an hour. I will also try this with a pork roast in the future; and perhaps on chicken. It would be great on either one I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Absolutely amazing! My guests wanted to lick the plate. The sweetness of the pomegranate-port reduction was a nice balance against the lemon marinated lamb chops. Served with garlic mashed red potatoes, steamed broccoli and Pentage Winery Syrah wine. Very quick and easy to prepare. Colour was very appealing. Delicious. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this meal for my mom on mothers day. She loved it and so did the rest of my family. I used Dow's Fine Ruby Port. It's a sweet wine, which went really well with the lamb. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveboc
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
The sauce was a bit disappointing. I cooked it down to 1/4-1/3 quantity. It never thickened at all, and did not have a strong enough flavor for me. The recipe was good but that was more because of the good quality lamb chops and the good quality port than any combination of flavors. I skipped the pomegranate seeds because I didn't have them available. Perhaps with them it would have had more pome flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
TEN STARS!!! Thank you WannaBeChef for creating this masterpiece and recommeding it to me on the Buzz! I used a potato peeler to do the lemon zest, not getting any of the white stuff which is very bitter and diced the peel really small. It sat in the fridge about 4 hours, turned it every hour. I could not find fresh pomegranate juice so I used 3 pomegranates to make my own. DH likes his meat medium so I grilled 5 minutes on each side and it was perfect! I cannot wait to try this out for an impressive company or family dinner. Served with Over the Fire Scalloped Potatoes which means the kitchen stayed cool while the grill did all the work. Make this, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome, simple, and awesome! We made some changes... 1st, the reduction consistency was perfect when we took it down to about a 3rd and let it sit for a good 15-20 minutes. We also tossed in some fresh grapefruit juice into the marinade to compliment the salad we had with the dinner (see MAGnWen Summer Salad). Lamb was served over a bed of white rice with a touch of rice vinegar. Awesome dinner, it is now in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG-n-Wen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My wife said she did not like lamb until she tried this recipe great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Rushing Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is delicious! My guys loved it! I couldn't find fresh pomegranate so I skipped the seeds. I also used loin chops (my lamb chop loving Dad says they're better than regular chops.) He loved the dish too. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I had to use a pomegranate-blueberry juice as that was all I could find and there were no pomegranates available and it was my first time doing Lamb chops and they were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darrylann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was very helpful as I had never cooked lamb before. I would have given it a 5 except for the cooking time. Using a Foreman grill, it took only three minutes for 1-inch lamb chops, two minutes for a 3/4 inch chop. The sauce was good but thin, and using another reviewer's suggestion I used what I had on hand -- pomegranate blueberry. It combined with our Merlot for a delicious reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Best Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make juicy, flavorful grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States