Grilled Lamb Chops with Pomegranate-Port Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Followed everything exactly! The port reduction is delicious! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for items I just had on hand, but with as well as that turned out, I'm anxious to try the real thing for a fancy dinner some time!! Instead of lamb chops, I used pork loin, which I marinated and then grilled with a coffee black pepper BBQ dry rub. For the sauce, I didn't have port wine, so I substituted an equal amount of merlot with 2 TB's of brown sugar, about 2 TB's lemon juice, 2 tsp of dried rosemary, sea salt and cracked black pepper to taste, and about 1 TB of cornstarch to thicken along with the recommended amount of fresh pomegranate juice. For the final few minutes that I cooked the sauce to thicken it, I added in the 2 TB's of fresh pomegranate seeds. I chose this recipe because I was looking for a creative way to use up fresh pomegranates I had on hand and this turned out great! I got the fresh pomegranate juice simply by juicing the fresh fruit on a lemon squeezer. Beautiful flavors and very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
The reduction is the best part of it. I want to try this recipe with steak sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was very helpful as I had never cooked lamb before. I would have given it a 5 except for the cooking time. Using a Foreman grill, it took only three minutes for 1-inch lamb chops, two minutes for a 3/4 inch chop. The sauce was good but thin, and using another reviewer's suggestion I used what I had on hand -- pomegranate blueberry. It combined with our Merlot for a delicious reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was FANTASTIC! I had to use a pomegranate-blueberry juice as that was all I could find and there were no pomegranates available and it was my first time doing Lamb chops and they were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darrylann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is delicious! My guys loved it! I couldn't find fresh pomegranate so I skipped the seeds. I also used loin chops (my lamb chop loving Dad says they're better than regular chops.) He loved the dish too. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My wife said she did not like lamb until she tried this recipe great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome, simple, and awesome! We made some changes... 1st, the reduction consistency was perfect when we took it down to about a 3rd and let it sit for a good 15-20 minutes. We also tossed in some fresh grapefruit juice into the marinade to compliment the salad we had with the dinner (see MAGnWen Summer Salad). Lamb was served over a bed of white rice with a touch of rice vinegar. Awesome dinner, it is now in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG-n-Wen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
TEN STARS!!! Thank you WannaBeChef for creating this masterpiece and recommeding it to me on the Buzz! I used a potato peeler to do the lemon zest, not getting any of the white stuff which is very bitter and diced the peel really small. It sat in the fridge about 4 hours, turned it every hour. I could not find fresh pomegranate juice so I used 3 pomegranates to make my own. DH likes his meat medium so I grilled 5 minutes on each side and it was perfect! I cannot wait to try this out for an impressive company or family dinner. Served with Over the Fire Scalloped Potatoes which means the kitchen stayed cool while the grill did all the work. Make this, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
The sauce was a bit disappointing. I cooked it down to 1/4-1/3 quantity. It never thickened at all, and did not have a strong enough flavor for me. The recipe was good but that was more because of the good quality lamb chops and the good quality port than any combination of flavors. I skipped the pomegranate seeds because I didn't have them available. Perhaps with them it would have had more pome flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States