Grilled Jamaican Jerked Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I did half the recipe for four loin chops and it was the perfect amount. We used our favorite Yuengling Lager in the marinade. I was concerned when one review said the alcohol was over powering, but we didn't taste the alcohol at all. I did detect the subtle flavoring from the spices and the sweetness and little spicy kick, all came together quite well, and the meat was tender and very juicy for pork. The only change I made was dried marjoram spice instead of fresh, and couldn't find a scotch bonnet pepper, so used a small jalapeno from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Wonderful and oh so spicy!!! I will use this over and over - I love good Jerk rubs and marinades. I didn't change anything although I used this on ribs rather than chops as the submitter suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Made this on Friday night for a family dinner. Very, very good! The lime was not overpowering at all and yeah, you couldn't really taste the beer or rum but I don't think the point of the recipe was to taste those two ingredients. The combination of everything though is really tasty! I had to shop for some of the spices which I didn't already have, so now I have to figure out what to do with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Made this recipe for the Labor Day BBQ. Everyone loved it! Next time, I'll try it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This came out really nice. I can't imagine the problems that the other reviews had unless they did not follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great marinade! Everybody in my family enjoyed this recipe. I didn`t use molasses for marinade. If you don`t have a grill, fry the meat on a pan and you`ll get wonderful chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Thank you for such a versitile and very delicious recipe! I had two large butterfly pork chops, so I halved all of the liquid and only used a couple of shots of beer (thanks previous reviewers). I also subbed several tablespoons of a prepared jerk seasoning in place of the list of jerk spices. Smelled soooo good on the grill, and I loved the light carmelization from the molasses and rum, balanced by the saltiness of the soy sauce. Will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
FABULOUS! I love the infusion of flavors that brought this dish together. As mixing, I was skeptical! Once I poured over the chops, the aroma, I knew it was going to be delightful. I cut down on the Rum and used a ginger puree. I cut down too on the nutmeg and cinnamon (I was only using 4 chops). I used Red Stripe Lager (Jamaican Beer). My family was loving this and asked for me to make it again. I only marinaded this for about 7 hours though. It would be fantastic if used with Chicken or on Ribs (as another reviewer stated). Thank you so much for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used a Pork Tenderloin instead of chops. The alcohol taste was a bit over powering. The marinade could have done with much more chilli and a touch more sweetness. My husband liked it more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Pleasant, but not really the taste I was expecting from a Jamaican jerk marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States