Grilled Italian Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Successful meal. Three of us thought they were really tasty but my daughter thought there was too much flavor of Italian sausage - probably from the 2 teaspoons of fennel seeds. I actually used two pounds of lean ground beef and one pound of bulk sausage and used the full recipe amount of seasonings. It was too hot to grill outside so I grilled them on my stovetop pan and then finished in the oven. After putting the cooked meat patties on sub rolls, I added sauteed red peppers and onions and provolone cheese, wrapped in foil and heated for 15 minutes. My daughter added pesto to hers after it came out of the oven. I don't think serving them on the bun is necessary. They would be good covered in grilled veggies and shredded cheese and heated in the oven until the cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Instead of sandwiches, I used this hamburger as part of a "naked burger" (no bun) meal idea to serve 4 (changed the serving size). Made a few tweaks w/ingredients I had on hand: used ground turkey instead of ground beef, hot Italian sausage, 3/4 of an onion, 4 garlic cloves and increased the Italian seasoning. These were a hit with my husband, he's already requested I make them again! Very easy to prepare and add/sub out ingredients you have in your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I omitted the anise seed because I didn't have it and I added four cloves of fresh minced garlic to the butter before brushing it on the thick hamburger rolls, which we used instead of baguettes. I made six thick burgers instead of twelve thin. These are incredible. We really loved them. We dressed these simply with homemade special sauce, sliced cheddar cheese, sliced tomato, sliced onion and fresh bibb lettuce. Out of six, there is ONE left. My husband ate two in one sitting. I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Amazing burgers! Hubby loved them for Father's Day. I halved the recipe....used an 85%/15% ground beef....used a hot Italian ground sausage.....love the fennel flavor....did omit the olive oil in the mix....didnt see a need for it....and served on nice rolls topped with provolone cheese....Just the right amount of spice and plenty of flavor and juiciness! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
The problem with mixing ground beef with pork sausage is you have to cook the meat completely through so the grd.beef is quite over cooked although wonderful as meat loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I have been making Grilled Italian Hamburgers for years, the only difference is I have been using the hot Italian Sausage. I also use 1/4 cup of Italian creamy salad dressing, makes the burgers nice and moist. I tried this recipe and I like it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought these came out great. Lots of flavor and something nice to make on occasion. I didn't use the anise seed because I didn't have them on hand, but these still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were absolutely delicious. I made a few for last night and a few more for leftovers, and I can't wait to eat them again. Overall, this recipe is definitely worth a try. This is one burger recipe that I would absolutely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiEmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Kiwi & Chili-Rubbed Short Ribs

See how to make a quick-and-easy rub for grilled short ribs.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States