Grilled Honey-Soy Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So good, I did add a bit of apple cider vinegar and brown sugar and garlic&onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was delicious grilled! I added a little (about a teaspoon or so) of Siracha sauce for some added heat and it was superb! I definitely recommend this recipe! I only marinated for a few hours before grilling and it still turned out really nice. (The meat used was Berkshire pork steaks from a local farm here in Central FL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I love pork steak!! Kept the recipe as-is, except I used garlic powder and dried onions because that is what I had. Definitely use low-sodium soy sauce or decrease the amount because it will over power the other flavors. For 6 pork steaks, I increased the marinade recipe to 24 servings so that I could put everything into two 1-gallon zip bags and have all the meat covered so I didn't have to worry about flipping it. I think I only let it sit for about 2 hours because I was in a hurry. TIP - make sure your meat is at room temperature before you grill it! I don't understand the science behind it, but it definitely makes better results every time. Our pork steaks were probably about 1/2 thick or slightly less, so the grill time was only 3 minutes on each side - MAX. Because this recipe uses soy sauce, do not cut into the steaks while they are cooking to make sure the insides are white - they won't be. Pork tends to have a pinkish color when subjected to soy sauce or vinegar blends no matter how long you cook it. Trust your timer or meat thermometer to avoid making shoe leather. Also, let the meat rest for about 5 minutes after you take it off the grill so it doesn't get dry. It will suck its own juices back in and stay moist. For a fancy flair, I paired these lovely steaks with Jerk Shrimp skewers, bacon ranch pasta salad, and grilled corn in the husk. This looked and tasted like a really expensive meal, but it fit nicely into the weekly (meager) grocery budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Next time I'll double the marinade and reserve half as au jus. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
First off, unless your pork is seriously thick, do NOT cook for 7 minutes. Second, I had to quadruple the recipe to get enough actual marinade to cover 4 thin chops (1/2"). My suggestions 1) Sub OJ for lemon juice for a sweeter flavor. 2) Cook for 3-4 minutes per side. 3) Use a mellow soy sauce like Kikkoman or else the soy will overwhelm the flavor. 4) Omit the onion as it does not add any flavor. This recipe is an OK base marinade for pork. Try it (with a few tweaks) & play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I had the pork steaks from the grocery store - had wanted blade chops but this was all they had. Found this recipe and the only substitution was lime juice for the lemon juice since that's what I had on hand. Seven minutes a side over charcoal and they were absolutely delicious. When my wife first saw them come home she wanted no part of them. When she saw them come in from the grill that changed in a hurry and once she tasted them all bets were off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Xsientme
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very nice, marinating in the plastic bag worked well, we used a variant of soyaki plus honey plus soy sauce and lemon juice. I believe the acidity of the lemon juice made a tremendous difference in how 'juicy' the chops were. We had very thick chops, so we seared each side for 6-7 minutes then finished off baking the chops for about 8-10 minutes at 400 degrees. Very nice, definitely will become a regular in rotation of family meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
No one at our house particularly cared for this, won't make again. Did make as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I would cook a little longer to grill through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States