Grilled Hawaiians Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very easy and yummy!!! When I was a teenager I worked for Steak Escape Sandwich Shop and we had a sandwich simular to this called the HAMBROSIA...this tastes very much like it!!!! Next time I'm going to sprinkle some pepper on the ham. This is very easy to make too. My 19 month old daughter LOVED it! Thanks so much tball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
was a little dry. needs some sauce or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Quite good! I used processed Swiss (can't compare to the real stuff) and fresh pineapple, finely chopped. Youngest kid didn't like it but she is pretty picky. All around good use of what was on hand and much more interesting than plain grilled cheese. I made it in a grilled-cheese maker, not a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
We are still trying to use up some ham from the holidays, so I was happy to find this recipe. Pineapple works on pizza, so why not sandwiches? Absolutely. The pineapple is a fantastic embellishment and meshes perfectly with the ham and cheese. I used rye bread for another interesting touch. I set the heat between medium and medium high and cooked each side for about 1:15. 25 seconds in the micro to finish melting the cheese and to make the sandwich piping hot and you have a lunch fit for a king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
These are really yummy! I'm not a fan of swiss cheese but I used it anyway and wolfed down two of these. Regular sandwich bread worked out fine but I think it would be even tastier with a sturdy loaf that can stand up to the moist pineapple a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Loved these! Great variation on grilled cheese when we need a meal in a hurry. Two suggestions: toast the bread first and put the pineapple between the ham and the cheese. It really helps to keep the bread from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. I used high quality ingredients except for the bread. If I make it again I will use better bread and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Easy and tasty. I followed a previous reviewer's recommendation and put the pineapple between the ham a few ham slices and the sandwiches were not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
We needed a recipe to use up our Honey Baked Ham from the holidays. We used sour dough bread, lite swiss cheese and crushed canned pineapple. We toasted it on our grill top on the gas stove on medium heat. It turned out well. Maybe next time I will use some honey mustard to add more flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Personally, I liked this idea. It was a great twist to a grilled cheese! My husband, on the other hand, said he didn't care for it. Probably because the pineapple does make it a "soggy" sandwitch! I liked the idea of putting the pineapple between 2 slices of ham, though! I'll definately be trying this one again... although I don't know about my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States