Grilled Hawaiians Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I was a little scared of this at first but have no fear! This is a delicious sandwich. If you like hawaiian pizza, you'll enjoy this sanwich. I followed the recipe and added a little yellow mustard. I wasn't sure how the mustard would go with the pineapple but it worked perfectly and personally i think ham and swiss screams for mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for a quick lunch today bc we have ham sandwich meat and fresh pineapple. I don't have swiss cheese, so I used American slices (not my favorite, but at least it melts well!). I didn't find this to be soggy at all. I put the pineapple slices in between the ham and the cheese to protect the bread. I also used homemade bread--the Cottage Cheese Bread I on this site. Worked well. I think I would like it a bit better with dijon mustard on the bread but I'm of the opinion that any grilled cheese can be made better with dijon mustard or ketchup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
great recipe for a quick, tasty meal. i put the pineapple between the ham and the bread stayed dry. i also added mango wasabi mustard to add some kick. it complimented it well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was quick and easy and sooo yummy. You could even dip in pizza sauce and it would taste like ham and pineapple pizza! Great for a busy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Love it. I used American cheese instead of swiss and pineapple rings instead of crushed. It was awesome, not soggy at all. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Personally, I liked this idea. It was a great twist to a grilled cheese! My husband, on the other hand, said he didn't care for it. Probably because the pineapple does make it a "soggy" sandwitch! I liked the idea of putting the pineapple between 2 slices of ham, though! I'll definately be trying this one again... although I don't know about my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
We needed a recipe to use up our Honey Baked Ham from the holidays. We used sour dough bread, lite swiss cheese and crushed canned pineapple. We toasted it on our grill top on the gas stove on medium heat. It turned out well. Maybe next time I will use some honey mustard to add more flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Easy and tasty. I followed a previous reviewer's recommendation and put the pineapple between the ham a few ham slices and the sandwiches were not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. I used high quality ingredients except for the bread. If I make it again I will use better bread and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Loved these! Great variation on grilled cheese when we need a meal in a hurry. Two suggestions: toast the bread first and put the pineapple between the ham and the cheese. It really helps to keep the bread from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States