Grilled Hawaiians Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Loved these! Great variation on grilled cheese when we need a meal in a hurry. Two suggestions: toast the bread first and put the pineapple between the ham and the cheese. It really helps to keep the bread from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very easy and yummy!!! When I was a teenager I worked for Steak Escape Sandwich Shop and we had a sandwich simular to this called the HAMBROSIA...this tastes very much like it!!!! Next time I'm going to sprinkle some pepper on the ham. This is very easy to make too. My 19 month old daughter LOVED it! Thanks so much tball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Had buns to use up so I grilled the insides of buns and layered cheese and ham on each side then pineapple in middle. Then wrapped in foil and into oven to warm/melt/toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
We are still trying to use up some ham from the holidays, so I was happy to find this recipe. Pineapple works on pizza, so why not sandwiches? Absolutely. The pineapple is a fantastic embellishment and meshes perfectly with the ham and cheese. I used rye bread for another interesting touch. I set the heat between medium and medium high and cooked each side for about 1:15. 25 seconds in the micro to finish melting the cheese and to make the sandwich piping hot and you have a lunch fit for a king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Quite good! I used processed Swiss (can't compare to the real stuff) and fresh pineapple, finely chopped. Youngest kid didn't like it but she is pretty picky. All around good use of what was on hand and much more interesting than plain grilled cheese. I made it in a grilled-cheese maker, not a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was quick and easy and sooo yummy. You could even dip in pizza sauce and it would taste like ham and pineapple pizza! Great for a busy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great recipe, will make again. I cooked these in my sandwich maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty, fairly nutritious and inexpensive. A keeper in a house with 8 kids!!! No changes necessary, we just serve with a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for a quick lunch today bc we have ham sandwich meat and fresh pineapple. I don't have swiss cheese, so I used American slices (not my favorite, but at least it melts well!). I didn't find this to be soggy at all. I put the pineapple slices in between the ham and the cheese to protect the bread. I also used homemade bread--the Cottage Cheese Bread I on this site. Worked well. I think I would like it a bit better with dijon mustard on the bread but I'm of the opinion that any grilled cheese can be made better with dijon mustard or ketchup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
was a little dry. needs some sauce or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States