Grilled Hawaiians Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
We are still trying to use up some ham from the holidays, so I was happy to find this recipe. Pineapple works on pizza, so why not sandwiches? Absolutely. The pineapple is a fantastic embellishment and meshes perfectly with the ham and cheese. I used rye bread for another interesting touch. I set the heat between medium and medium high and cooked each side for about 1:15. 25 seconds in the micro to finish melting the cheese and to make the sandwich piping hot and you have a lunch fit for a king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
These are really yummy! I'm not a fan of swiss cheese but I used it anyway and wolfed down two of these. Regular sandwich bread worked out fine but I think it would be even tastier with a sturdy loaf that can stand up to the moist pineapple a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Loved these! Great variation on grilled cheese when we need a meal in a hurry. Two suggestions: toast the bread first and put the pineapple between the ham and the cheese. It really helps to keep the bread from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Love it. I used American cheese instead of swiss and pineapple rings instead of crushed. It was awesome, not soggy at all. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was quick and easy and sooo yummy. You could even dip in pizza sauce and it would taste like ham and pineapple pizza! Great for a busy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I was a little scared of this at first but have no fear! This is a delicious sandwich. If you like hawaiian pizza, you'll enjoy this sanwich. I followed the recipe and added a little yellow mustard. I wasn't sure how the mustard would go with the pineapple but it worked perfectly and personally i think ham and swiss screams for mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
So good!!! I used fresh pineapple, white american cheese, and honey ham. Next time I'm using even more pineapple! Thats what makes this sandwich so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
GREAT !!!! loved the sweetness of a little pineapple. MUCH better than regular grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Makes a quick lunch that is almost effortless but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
What a great variation on the standard grilled cheese. If you like canadian bacon/pineapple pizza, you'll love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States