Grilled Hawaiian Chicken and Pineapple Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This recipe was not only easy but a crowd HIT! I marinaded the chicken overnight with Lawry's Hawaiian Marinade. The chicken was so tender. The pineapple slices and provolone were great togther! SO tasty! A definite cook book add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used this as a base recipe and added my own touches. I pounded the boneless, skinless chicken breasts between two pieces of saran wrap to make them tender and less thick. I used my fav. teriyaki sauce to marinate and I also sauteed some sliced mushrooms then added some sauce to the mushrooms. I grilled the chicken on wood chunk briquettes (the smoky flavor was amazing). I use swiss or provolone cheese and grill the pineapple per the recipe. I used plain mayo instead of thousand island. My sister suggested to use chipoltle mayo to add a little kick. I may try that next time. Great recipe to add your own touches to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
The whole family approves of this one! Very easy. I did the whole thing on my George Foreman Grill. We will definitely be having this again. And just because of personal preference I think we will use the chipotle mayo next time instead of the Thousand Island dressing. But we made it as the recipe stated and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that reminded me of a "Hawaiian" sandwich my kids loved in Belgium. This came very close to hitting the mark; just made a few changes to make it just like what we ate there. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We LOVED this recipe! The first time, we forgot to pick up onion buns and make the 1000 island dressing, but it still turned out wonderful. The second time, everything was there and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Not very good at all - I've had this type of sandwich in restaurants and loved it, but I didn't think the thousand island dressing went well with the marinade and pinapple. Needs something spicier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Just ok. Theres something odd about the thousand island dressing. Just didnt taste right in the sandwich.I would stick with mayo. Not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were really good but I did make some changes....I skipped on the tomatoes and lettuce (the sandwich is already juicy from the pineapple). Also, I didn't have any onion rolls so instead I used sesame rolls and then added onion strings to the sandwich(I really recommend this addition). Also, I'm not a fan of thousand island dressing so I used dijon mustard and instead of the provolone I used muenster jalapeno cheese! I realize that this is a lot of changes but I just made it according to what I had in the refrigerator and my BF and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States