Grilled Hanger Steak with a Roasted Shallot Port Demi Sauce and Grilled Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
LOVED IT!! Found a vegetable demi glace at the an upscale food market and went with that- it came in a 1.5 ounce cup and I needed to add hot water to make the demi glace. Also- had to use cooking sherry as we did not have Port but I must say this recipe is VERY forgiving! Used the whole shallots unchopped- cut the big ones in half. Served them with the steak and they were delicious. Worried a bit about the chewy comments- so I lightly tenderized the steaks after they had been sitting in the oil and salt and pepper a bit. This worked like a charm! Ample amount of sauce and we are sauce lovers. Will definitely make again and again!! TY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was fabulous! I did not have time or the inclination to spend two days making real demi-glace so I used the darkest beef gravy in a jar that I could find. I also did not have port wine so I used Sherry and it was very good. I am not sure how the real original recipe here would have tasted but I substituted what I could and it turned out fabulous so I'm sure that with the real demi-glace say it is equally good, if not better. Hats off to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The recipe for the meal is really good and the sauce is wonderful. I was very careful to cook my steak to only very rare and let it rest. It was still chewier than I prefer but the flavor was good. I think cooking even to medium rare might have been too tough to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I substituted skirt steak (as hanger was nowhere to be found) and couldn't find the demi glace, either. For that, instead of the demi glace, I put some beef broth into the shallot and port wine mixture to give a little extra flavor. I cooked that down and then ultimately drained the excess liquid. The shallots on the steak tasted AMAZING. Oh, and the green beans were so simple, but some of the best I've ever had. Also did some grilled potatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was really good but I don't think that the method of cooking this meat made it tender. It was very tough. It had good flavor however. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Did this by the book for three of us. I couldn't vote because I was the cook. (Of course it would be good). Well they raved about how good it was, I have to agree! From the recipe I was not sure how so serve the Shallots, but it worked out great. Also had trouble finding Demi Sauce, but now will always have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kendall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Made this for company last night. Was able to find demi glace and hanger steak at local butcher shops. Everyone raved! The sauce was out of this world, definately felt like I was eating out at a great restaurant instead of in my own dining room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but for the person who asked, you can find demi glace at fine cooking supply (e.g., Williams-Sonoma) or specialty foods stores or online, although any "upscale" grocery store with real butchers should have a version available--just ask one of the men behind the counter (I've seen it frozen). You can make your own if you can get veal bones and have the time. For those who are wondering, Hanger Steak is pretty hard to find. On the SF Peninsula, only Mollie Stone's carries this cut currently (I'm told by the owner that they're the only ones who still butcher from the whole animal, which is why they have it.) It rocks! Well guarded secret of the butchers ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This recipe looks 5 star. Would love to make this, but where do you get demi glace?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States