Grilled Ham and Cheese With a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Yummy! I scaled this down to 1 serving but only had 2 slices of thin sliced ham...so I added a slice of prosciutto as well. I love jams or chutney's on savory sandwiches! This was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Yum! I used Swiss cheese instead of cheddar and raspberry jam instead of chutney. I cooked it in a skillet and finished it off in the oven for a few minutes to ensure that the ham was hot enough. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Really tasty and went over well at my soup and sandwich buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Fantastic flavor. A little messy though as the chutney dripped out while eating. I used sharp cheddar and white sandwich bread. Although I liked the flavor very much I doubt I would make this again. It was a sticky mess eating and the ham kept sliding. Too much slipping in the middle. Thanks for something different for lunch. I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Make this with carmelized onions. Slice a large onion very thinly and put in a pan with some oil and a 1/4 tsp. of sugar. and a pinch of salt. Cover and cook about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until lightly browned. For sauce mixx together 4 stp. spicy brown mustard, 3 tsp. horseradish and 2 tsp. honey. Spreadh this on the bread layer some ham, caramelized onions and swiss cheese on the bread and grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great twist on an easy sandwich. Used spicy mango chutney and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Now this is a twist I love. Of course I like anything with chutney. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very nice sandwich. I made one sandwich just for myself for lunch, and it was the perfect amount for me. I'm not a huge fan of ham (don't like it very much at all actually), but I really like the spiciness of the chutney with the ham and cheese. Very quick and easy, so that's good too. I know bf wouldn't like the combo, but for me it's a nice lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a fun twist-- I dipped it in a spicy ranch dressing, which added some extra kick. Next time I might substitute it with a spicy chutney or add crushed red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
for me this was brilliant...thanks...will make it again..i used my own ham but think the sliced ham would work better...might try a diffy cheese but otherwise the idea...well thanks again! ... this time i used 'grandma's english muffin bread' from this site and black forest ham thinly sliced...and it was soooo good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States