Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good. I marinated fish for 6-7 hrs in garlic,olive oil cilantro and lime juice, then seared in olive oil, and added a lid to finish cooking. After removing the fish to a plate, I dumped the marinade into the fry pan, cooked for a few minutes with some additional lime juice, then stirred in the butter until melted. Fresh cilantro is a must in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Delicious and easy! My husband said this was his favorite thing I've ever made. I used tilapia, as well, and added some capers to the saute pan. Served with wild rice and baked sweet potato. The flavors merged well! I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This turned out better than I thought it might! I melted the butter in pan under the broiler added the garlic for a couple min. then put the halibut in and salted it and sqeezed fresh lime juice over and cilantro chopped. I had a small amount of halibut so I just used the ingredients here to give me the way to cook it. The flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I thought this lacked flavor. I think I should have subbed Old Bay for salt & maybe added some italian seasoning. I also think it needs more lime juice (I used fresh)...& it would probably benefit from a quick marinade in a little olive oil w/ lime. This was quick & easy & required little prep though...thanks for lettng me try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was a wonderful meal. All of my picky eaters ate it. I love the way the cilantro butter sauce tasted with the fish. Will probably use it on shrimp too next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was so easy and quick. I think the general concensus was that it was a little heavy on the lime but perhaps that was because I didn't measure! I used Red Snapper instead of halibut and it was good. My kids complained about the cilantro - they thought it was spinach! So maybe I'd cut down on the amount of cilantro next time - more for presentation than taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I loved this dish mainly because I really love lime. I think any white fish will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was really really good. I used mahi mahi instead of halibut. I served this with the Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce from this site and also a side of lemon pasta. It was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was super easy to make and even my picky teenager ate it! I used Tilapia rather than the halibut, and served it over fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was a great meal idea! I used mahi mahi, and made the butter while the fish was on the grill. I will try some different spices, as it could have used some more flavoring, but was an easy to make and quick meal with great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States