Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I just loved this recipe..garlic, lime, cilantro and butter - a perfect compliment to the sweet taste of grilled halibut. I made a garlic risotto as a side, some peas for color and voila! A perfect summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is perfect for a nice thick piece of halibut. The sauce adds a very nice flavour to the fish. I used parsley instead of cilantro as that is all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was delicious. The only change that I would make is MORE SAUCE! I think it would be really good tossed with cubed grilled haibut as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
SO glad Hubs preferred to have a steak tonight, leaving this all to me! I had him grill this for me on a cast iron skillet (alongside his steak) while I prepared the sauce indoors. Outside of backing off on the cilantro just a wee bit, I followed the directions - and couldn't have been more in love with this! I used halibut cheeks I brought home with me from Pike Place Market in Seattle - the best of the best. Good enough just on its own, the submitter is right on the money when she just so delicately enhances this beautiful fish with the flavors of lime, garlic and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is meant to be a recipe that doesn't over-power or cover up the flavor of the fish. Halibut (when fresh) is buttery, succulent, delicate and delicious. Who would want to cover that up? So, no.. the flavors in this recipe are not assertive. If you find it to be bland, try seasoning the fish with your favorite fish rub first. We like the subtle flavors of the cilantro and the garlic in this recipe, so this is usually how I make my halibut. An alternative is to steam the fish directly in the sauce mixture. Cook it en papillote, if you will. Create packets out of foil or baking paper. Create a paste out of the garlic, butter, and olive oil. Brush it on the fish and season with salt, black pepper (or crushed red pepper), fresh lime juice, and chopped cilantro. Seal the packets and cook in a preheated oven for about 10 minutes depending on the thickness of your fish. The great thing about this is that everything will cook in the natural juices of the halibut. Let it rest for a few minutes and then serve directly in the packet. An alternative (or a way to up the flavor of the butter) is to create a compound butter with the above ingredients using very fresh cilantro, dill, and a bit of parsley. Hope this helps! Results will vary depending on the type of fish, but this should be good on any delicate white fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just substituted Sea Bass for Halibut because Halibut is outrageously expensive here. We all found this bland and uninteresting. Which was too bad, because I had high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It doesn't get much simpler than this. A great dish that's full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
We broiled the fish instead. Made the sauce as directed. Was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Delicious. Simple, delicate. I had no lime so used lemon. It was fabulous. I'm sure lime is great also. I also brushed with a little melted butter before cooking. Had fillets that were only about 2/3 inch and cut time to 8 minutes but should probably cut to 6-7 minutes. Consider searing 1 minute and then over low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States