Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We thought the flavor was a wee bit too subtle for our taste, followed exactly as directed. Could have benefitted from more seasoning? Or possibly would have been improved via longer marinating time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I loved the flavor of this. It's now my go to recipe when we have the freezer filled with Halibut. I didn't grill it, but pan fried and then moved it to the oven to finish, was so yummy with the butter to dip it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is amazing! I used tilapia instead of halibut because of availability. I am not a huge fish fan, but ths was great. It was fairly easy to make and delicious! My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is awesome. The Garlic really brings the X factor. Lime on any white fish? Hellz yea. We did on the grill with the fish tossed in olive oil, salt n pepper before put on the grill. Served with grilled peppers also tossed in oil, salt n pepper then grilled as well. The sauce really topped off every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I just loved this recipe..garlic, lime, cilantro and butter - a perfect compliment to the sweet taste of grilled halibut. I made a garlic risotto as a side, some peas for color and voila! A perfect summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is perfect for a nice thick piece of halibut. The sauce adds a very nice flavour to the fish. I used parsley instead of cilantro as that is all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was delicious. The only change that I would make is MORE SAUCE! I think it would be really good tossed with cubed grilled haibut as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
SO glad Hubs preferred to have a steak tonight, leaving this all to me! I had him grill this for me on a cast iron skillet (alongside his steak) while I prepared the sauce indoors. Outside of backing off on the cilantro just a wee bit, I followed the directions - and couldn't have been more in love with this! I used halibut cheeks I brought home with me from Pike Place Market in Seattle - the best of the best. Good enough just on its own, the submitter is right on the money when she just so delicately enhances this beautiful fish with the flavors of lime, garlic and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is meant to be a recipe that doesn't over-power or cover up the flavor of the fish. Halibut (when fresh) is buttery, succulent, delicate and delicious. Who would want to cover that up? So, no.. the flavors in this recipe are not assertive. If you find it to be bland, try seasoning the fish with your favorite fish rub first. We like the subtle flavors of the cilantro and the garlic in this recipe, so this is usually how I make my halibut. An alternative is to steam the fish directly in the sauce mixture. Cook it en papillote, if you will. Create packets out of foil or baking paper. Create a paste out of the garlic, butter, and olive oil. Brush it on the fish and season with salt, black pepper (or crushed red pepper), fresh lime juice, and chopped cilantro. Seal the packets and cook in a preheated oven for about 10 minutes depending on the thickness of your fish. The great thing about this is that everything will cook in the natural juices of the halibut. Let it rest for a few minutes and then serve directly in the packet. An alternative (or a way to up the flavor of the butter) is to create a compound butter with the above ingredients using very fresh cilantro, dill, and a bit of parsley. Hope this helps! Results will vary depending on the type of fish, but this should be good on any delicate white fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenadelorenzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just substituted Sea Bass for Halibut because Halibut is outrageously expensive here. We all found this bland and uninteresting. Which was too bad, because I had high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States