Grilled Halibut II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I typically don't like fish, but this is a recipe I'll make again. I thought it was a good, very easy, basic recipe. I added 1/2 tsp. sea salt and 1/2 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper to the marinade. Then I put the fish in a Ziploc bag, poured in the marinade, and shook gently to coat. The marinade had a good flavor, but wasn't overpowering, which I liked. Watch the cooking time--be sure that you get the center of the fish to at least 145 degrees. We had our gas grill preheated to medium heat and it took us about 8 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This is one of the best ways of preparing halibut I have ever tried. I only marinated for an hour as the marinade really tenderizes the fish. My family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nickerson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I consider this a 'safe' recipe. No raves, no boos. If I make this again, I will use salt. This recipe lacks zest. I am not sure what spices it needs, but it needs something to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Made this with broild salmon and topped with pineapple salsa. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
Salmon and Orange Roughy can be used in place of Halibut. Mango Salsa is excellent with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was just ok for me. I was really surprised, because I love grilled fish and I love lime juice and herbs. It was the first time I've made halibut at home, and I think I will stick with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Very tasty, nice light flavor. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
loved this, thought that it might be a little to Italian for the fish but was pleasantly surprised
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
We changed it up alittle bit. Let the halibut stay in lime juice for 5-6 hours total. Also I just put in my herb garden...we live in California so fresh is the way to go on herbs! Big difference. Loved it with a nice Chardonnay from Napa. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
It was pretty good. I think I overcooked it though. I did it in the broiler for 10 minutes (1 inch thick fish) 5 minutes on each side. Next time I will do it on the grill. The flavors were okay, nothing spectacular. I served with mango salsa which I love on its own anyway. Served with scalloped yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States