Grilled Halibut II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was definately edible, but not great. My husband and I agree that the sage/thyme/rosemary mix isn't for this fish. That's more of a pork thing. Next time garlic and lemon, like usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
As-is, the recipe could be bland, as others have mentioned, since it has no salt and pepper. Unless you're on a very restricted diet, do yourself a favor and add a bit of each to taste. Halibut is a very light fish anyway so benefits greatly from a little seasoning. (To paraphrase Emeril LaGasse: "You have to season the fish, because it won't season itself.") You can even use a bit of seafood seasoning such as Chef Paul's (yummy stuff). Another minor variation I've enjoyed: reduce the oregano and thyme by half, and add 1/4 tsp. dill. Finally, it doesn't need a long marinate time; I use 30 min and it's great (with the adjustments above).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
did not care for the rosemary combination with the other thyme basil and oregano. just not my taste buds. made a jalapeno peach sauce and a berry chiplote sauce to drizzle over fish. that was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great marinade for Halibut, really tenderizes the fish! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Would have liked more flavor from this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Easy and delicious. perfect summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
loved this, thought that it might be a little to Italian for the fish but was pleasantly surprised
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
We changed it up alittle bit. Let the halibut stay in lime juice for 5-6 hours total. Also I just put in my herb garden...we live in California so fresh is the way to go on herbs! Big difference. Loved it with a nice Chardonnay from Napa. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
this was an excellent recipe. I wouldnt say the marinade serves 6 though. i used this recipe for 2 steaks and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States