Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Sorry. These should be called "Yogurt-Ranch Burgers," since they have little to do with actual gyros. If you want to make a burger that will be like a gyro, use ground lamb mixed with onion, garlic, salt, marjoram, rosemary, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labradors

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: La Ceiba, Atlántida, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
We didn't like it. It wasn't authentic enough. Next time I'll use ground lamb and instead of yogurt & ranch dressing I'll use one of the Tzatziki sauce recipes from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Tasted delicious! I think next time I will just fry the meat and use as filling rather than make into burger patties- they fell apart for me! The taste was fabulous though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Yum! We made this into more of a "Greek taco"-style dish, just browning the beef (added garlic and oregano), then having everyone load up their pita as desired with the cucumber sauce, feta cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce.My husband even enjoyed it leftover for lunch the next day! Easy to make, and very tasty. I'll probably experiment with seasoning the sauce next time; the ranch dressing mix was fine, but I think the end result could be better with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
These were so good. The burgers were very moist and had a great flavor. I served them on hamburger buns because of all of the reviews of the pita bread falling apart and just spooned the sauce over the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made these burgers with ground Chicken instead of beef...and they were fabulous! I also added crushed garlic to the cucumber sauce before adding it to the meat. Next time, I am going to add more onion. These really tasted like a Gyro. I used wraps instead of pita pockets. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
this was absoultely great. I used 1/2 yogurt and 1/2 light sour cream. (as one reviewer suggested). I think next time I might even try adding a tad more ranch dressing. the flavor was good I just like ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
These were awesome and the whole family loved them. I wouldn't change a thing. I was a little concerned because the meat mixture was very moist but the patties held together nicely and cooked up perfectly. I will make these, instead of the same old hamburgers, at our next cookout. Great recipe, Theresa! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
What the heck is so "gyro" about this? Not even close. Basic hamburger IMHO. Don't even bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Pretty good. Next time we're going to just fry meat as a filling instead of a burger, & would use lamb burger instead of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States