Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I thought this was great except you have to really smother the burgers completely b/c the burgers themselves really have no flavor even with the mix added to it. But the cucumber sauce was delicious and will make again but spice up the burgers more! The burgers were moist and wanted to fall apart on the grill but it wasn't too bad like other reviewers stated. I gave 5 stars b/c it was different, easy and still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Second review: Made it with pitas this time and it was exceptional! I will be making this one often, especially for the summer! We really liked this one. I didn't expect it to taste just like a gyro, but I still thought the cucumber sauce had that kick. We didn't have pita bread, just ate the burgers smothered in the sauce and tomatoes, and everyone loved them. The meat does try to fall apart, I would recommend carefully forming the patties and then placing them in between wax paper. It might even help more to throw them in the freezer for a few minutes before putting on the grill. Mine did not fall apart, and I would say follow the grilling rule of turning them just once and yours won't either! I am hoping to find pita pockets the next time I make them, because I definitely think that will add even more to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Not a family favorite. It was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very Good Recipe; Good texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Loved this recipe,it was a really different taste and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I fried a tiny sample of the meat mixture and was highly disappointed with the flavor. Using 1 tablespoon of Greek Seasoning (from this web site) mixed into the remaining meat gave it a pleasantly Greek taste. Next time I'll use two tablespoons of the seasoning so it will taste much more like a gyro. I shaped the patties into half circles so they fit perfectly into the pitas, pan fried and we enjoyed them. But Greek Seasoning is an absolute MUST to make this recipe worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
These actually turned out pretty good. I didn't know what to expect after some of the previous reviews, but i can certainly see why a few small tweaks were necessary. I used 2 pounds of beef (1 lean, 1 medium), kept the yogurt mixture the same, added some panko bread crumbs and minced garlic, and my burgers stayed together on the grill!! No crumbling or falling apart. My husband and I thought maybe next time we might TOAST the buns, or pita or whatever we use. We used regular hamburger buns and the sauce made them kind of soggy by the end of the burger, but toasted might be a good thing!!! Will try next time for sure! Also, kids loved these burgers, even with the yogurt sauce! A couple of 8 year olds, a 5 year old and a 3 year old. Anyway, all in all, a pretty good recipe, most people would probably want to tweak it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
These are called gyro "burgers", but if you want the meat to have that more traditional "feel", you can either massage the meat for a minute or two (stretching it out and folding it back) or simply running the whole mix through the food processor for 30 seconds or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These are really great! I have made these a few times, and just made them for my extended family and they ALLLL disappeared. Really wonderful, flavorful and easy. I served them with the whole wheat pita recipe, and greek potatoes. As well as an incredible baklava recipe. All found on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These were yummy. I did ground meat instead of making a pattie. Also, i couldnt find pita bread so we used plain softshell taco's. I would suggest putting a little dill in the sauce and garnish it with garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States