Grilled Gyro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love this recipe, I have used it a few times. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 11 x 17 inch baking dish (greased), baked for 25 minutes at 400, removed it from dish, placed it on a baking sheet to cool. Then added sauce and toppings (with fresh basil on top), baked for 15-20 minutes - voila! My kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We really liked the dressing. But next time, will use a pita pocket instead of the flatbread because of the mess. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made these burgers with ground Chicken instead of beef...and they were fabulous! I also added crushed garlic to the cucumber sauce before adding it to the meat. Next time, I am going to add more onion. These really tasted like a Gyro. I used wraps instead of pita pockets. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Everyone ate it and asked for more. Burgers were moist and melted in your mouth. I served it with red onion, lettuce, tomato. Had no pita problems either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Very yummy! I even used plain pre-made hamburger patties and just spiced them up before grilling. I really only used the recipe for the sauce and then used a pita pocket to put the burger in. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was not overly impressed with this. I didn't think the burgers had much flavor and they seemed a little bland. I think I might try putting in some garlic or some other spices. The pita was also a pain because it kept falling apart. We ended up having to eat them with a fork and knife instead of as a sandwich. I think this has potential and I will probably try it again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. The cucumber sauce was perfect. The beef patties were moist and stayed together and my pita didn't fall apart. I served this with chopped onion and tomato. This almost satisfied my gyro craving but I think if you incorporated ground lamb, coriander, cumin, etc. it would be more authentic. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
The beef did not fulfill the Gyro cfaving that I had... but the cucumber sauce did hit the spot. I blended my cucumbers (because my husband does not like them) and that made it a little too runny. Pita's did fall apart, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to deal with for a gyro loaded with cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These burgers were very tasty--very moist and flavorful. The pita wasn't sturdy enough to hold all the fixins--it ended up leaking cucumber sauce, so next time I'll try a flat bread instead of the pita. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States